Gluten-Free Works For Me

30 Aug

Seriously?

I didn’t think I’d be saying this, but I really don’t miss the gluten.  Don’t get me wrong – I’d love to swing by Subway on my way home and grab one of my favorite veggie patty subs, but eh…  Not really worth it.

We’ve been trying some new products and so far I haven’t really been disappointed.

purchased @ East End Food Coop

These falafel chips from Flamous were AWESOME.  I thought I might be biased because I friggin’ love falafel, but she♥ loved them, too!  We ate them with hummus that I made.

Since she’s going out of town this weekend, I decided to pack her some goodies for the road.  One of the hardest changes for our family is to avoid grabbing food while we are out and about.  Yes, I break for Sonics.  But no more!

purchased @ East End Food Coop

I’m dying to find out what she♥ thinks.  Christina has always been the type of eater who knows what things are “supposed” to taste like.  And if you stray from her assumptions, she just doesn’t like the food.  Its incredibly frustrating for me, but over the years I think I’ve become more accommodating and she’s become more adventurous.  There were times when I thought we might need a gastro-psychologist (if they exist.)  Armed with her Pirate’s Booty and some freshly baked kale chips, she♥ hit the road.

And I got to have my first “when the cat’s away” meal.

Since I usually just eat the same thing I make her♥, I don’t get to indulge very often.

But today, sex on a plate.

Avocado, Spinach, & Goat Cheese with Pesto Mayo on Gluten-Free Bread

Thank you, Pinterest & TasteSpotting.  This was my first experience with gluten-free bread, Goodbye Gluten‘s white bread, to be exact.  I have read some real horror stories about gluten-free products online, but seriously?  Granted, it was grilled in butter.  But it was pretty darn good!  I found it at Giant Eagle, but it was the only thing made from Goodbye Gluten.  I found this picture on Gluten Free Is Life.

$5.39/loaf at Waterfront Giant Eagle

Lunch was amazing and we even though we are spending the holiday weekend apart:  gluten-free works for me (& my family)!

Leave a Reply

