Waiting To Exhale

10 Feb

RIP Whitney.

How do I simultaneously feel busy and accomplished but also like a lazy poop?  It’s obviously because I’m an adept multi-tasker.  Except for when I’m not.

Things seem hectic lately, exacerbated by the fact that we have been having a string of bad luck.  For example:  we closed on a new house last Friday.  We put homeowner’s insurance on the house and the next day I had the water company turn on the water.  House flooded.  Womp Womp.   Then, last night, our car key broke in half and left Christina stranded at the gas station!  Geez Louise, I feel like when we come up for air then we get hit with something else again.

Lucky for us, none of the misfortune has been major or crushingly expensive.  I had even packed up a few important things and put them in the car.  By some stroke of good luck, I forgot they were in the car so they never made it into the new house.  It all balances out, but I’m just ready to move on from this stress.

Our entire basement is packed up and in the new house all ready.  Next steps?  We bought paint for the bedrooms and hallway, the kitchen and basement are both getting fixed due to flooding, and hopefully we will be over there by the end of the month!  It is honestly all I can think about.

Which is why I can’t remember the last time I cooked a meal or put on my running shoes.  That’s not the universe’s doing, that’s on me.  I looked at the countdown app on my phone this morning and realized that I should all ready be on DAY TWO of 5K training.  Oops!  Sometimes when live gets overwhelming and stressful, I hit the snooze button on personal goals and positive behaviors.  That is counter-productive and I am committed to turning things around this week.  I am committed to exhaling.  I am letting all of the things outside of my control simply unfold as they will anyway.

4 Responses to “Waiting To Exhale”

  1. Kristy February 12, 2014 at 11:43 pm #

    Aw man, that’s a bummer that your house flooded! I’m sorry!

    Running will help with all of the stress, so think of that when you don’t want to go, lol. That’s what I do anyway……

    • SOLEfortheSoul February 13, 2014 at 10:53 am #

      haha Thanks, it could’ve been much worse. I’m just thankful it wasn’t sewage!! Running is definitely helping me blow off some anxiety and frustration. This was a good week to hit the gym hard!!

  2. erin February 14, 2014 at 4:31 pm #

    That’s terrible that your new house flooded! I’m glad that it didn’t prove to be a major expense though. Whew!

    • SOLEfortheSoul February 14, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

      Oh man, I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. It was horrible watching water pour through every floor board and waterfalling into the basement! I felt so helpless!!

Leave a Reply

