it’s raining, it’s pouring

5 Oct

I don’t know if its the sudden temperature drop in Western PA or the spirit of October-fest that finally got to me, but tonight I was craving some comfort-food.  I just love fall in Pittsburgh!!  I don’t even mind the rain these past few days because it makes the streets glisten, which looks so pretty against the backdrop of the changing leaves.  The only bad thing is that by the time I get done with work, its already starting to get dark.  They say you have to give a little to get a little and the gorgeous fall colors are definitely worth it!

Tonight, the wife and I enjoyed honey-soy glazed pork tenderloin.  I found the recipe on AllRecipes.com and honestly, I usually make a recipe my own once I get down to it.  Luckily, I had all of the ingredients handy this time, so I stuck to the recipe 100% .  Well it was worth it!


First, I popped the pork into the oven for 15 minutes at 450º.  While that was cooking, I mixed the glaze.

2 T. low-sodium soy sauce
1 T. brown sugar
2 T. sesame oil
2 T. balsamic vinegar
and 1/3 cup organic honey*

*We found this honey at a flea market while visiting Albuquerque, NM.  I cannot for the life of me remember exactly which flavor this one is, but the color is amazing and the taste is light and with a hint of fruit.*

After 15 minutes, I took the tenderloin out and brushed the glaze on.  The oven temperature got lowered to 350º and the pork went back in for 45 minutes. I applied a small layer of glaze in 15 minute intervals.

I made half a baked potato and some sauerkraut as a side dish, but I only ate a little bit of the potato.  The pork was so good, it was all I needed!  The glaze turned out nice and sweet and sort of carmelized on the outside.  I actually surprised myself with how good it turned out!!

Now…onto some homework time with the most amazing woman in Pittsburgh

Leave a Reply

