Two Mile Morning

16 May

Please excuse me, but I need to toot my own horn here. I ran 2 miles this morning after dropping my love off at class!! Woop woop!! I normally run at the gym but I decided to try running outside today instead because it wasn’t raining. Very different experience! I was able to take walking breaks more easily than on a treadmill and the natural hills were challenging. Hopefully each time I run the loop I will be able to walk less and less (obvi!).

AND I cooked some yumm-o pork chops and saurkraut for dinner.  They didn’t last long enough to get a good picture of!

Pork Chop How-To:

  • 3-4 pork chops (I had 3 butterfly-cut chops, so they were hearty portions)
  • garlic powder, salt and paprika to taste
  • 2 eggs (fresh & local from my friend Mary’s farm), beaten
  • all purpose flour
  • Panko unseasoned breadcrumbs
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 T. butter
  • 1/3 cup white wine
 I always preheat the oven (350 degrees F) and then assemble my ingredients, which keeps me from forgetting important steps!  This recipe is super easy if you prep correctly – beat the eggs in one bowl, put the Panko breadcrumbs in another and the flour in a third.  Before you even start, heat the olive oil slowly (eventually, you will want it to be medium-high) in a medium sized pan so that it gets hot while you are breading the pork chops.
Ready?  OK, dry the pork chops with a paper towel and then add salt and garlic powder to taste.  Pop each pork chop into the flour and get a light coating on it, then dip it in the egg and then cover it in the Panko.  I place the breaded chops on a paper towel until they’re all done and then put them in the heated oil together.  Heat them for about 4 minutes on each side.  Panko seems to brown faster than normal bread crumbs, so whichever you decide to use just brown the pork chops until they are golden and looking yummy.
Then, put them in a baking dish (I used a 9×13 inch metal pan), cover it with foil and bake them for 1 hour.  I made the gravy/soup mixture right away – this step is totally option because they would’ve been delicious without it.  You just mix the soup, (softened) butter and white wine together.  After the chops have been in for the hour, coat them with the mixture, replace the foil and bake for an additional 30 minutes.  And voila!
Leave a Reply

