happy birthday, mom!

21 May

Guess what…

If felt like summer today!!!

And it is my mom’s birthday!  I will spare her the number, but she is getting up there 🙂  We spent the day with my family (I have a younger brother and sister who still live at home).  While the kids were out running around with their neighbor friends who just put up a trampoline (a sign of summer!), we hung out at the house and played a favorite board game.  Its called Know It or Blow It…

Know It or Blow It

The point is to be a know-it-all so of course I love playing it because I think I know everything!  During the afternoon, we snacked on some black bean and corn dip that I made (I’ll post the recipe at the end of this post).

I ended up making stuffed cabbage from Smitten Kitchen (a huge hit!) and potatoes which were a little bit too spicy for the crowd.  I can’t help it, I date a Spanish girl!!

For dessert, I made Snickers Bar Pie that I found at Recipe Girl’s blog.

Birthday Pie ♥

It was so delicious and so easy.  I popped it in the freezer for a few hours so that the Cool Whip wouldn’t get all runny.  Since it was so warm today, it was really nice to have a frozen treat.

All-in-all, it was a pretty relaxing and enjoyable day.  I’m pretty sure my mom had a good birthday!

Black Bean & Corn Dip

1 T. olive oil
15 oz. can black beans, drained
1/2 cup corn kernels, removed from cob
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. chili powder
Minced jalapeno peppers, to taste (I used one whole pepper de-seeded)
1/2 cup shredded pepper jack cheese with jalapenos

Preheat oven to 375F.

Saute onions in a skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic, jalapenos, cumin and chili powder and saute for 2-3 minutes until you can smell the garlic.  Add the black beans and saute for another 3 minutes, then mash up the beans coarsely.  Add the corn and saute for another 3 minutes.

Once everything is mixed together, transfer contents to a baking dish and top with the shredded cheese.  Bake for 15 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly and light brown.  Serve hot with tortilla chips.

This recipe is easily doubled, although this serving size fed four hungry adults 🙂

Leave a Reply

