5th Annual Dark Days Challenge

17 Nov

So apparently I underestimated the time constraints of graduate school.  I have been busy, busy, busy doing research and writing fabulous papers on sustainability.  More to come on that later 🙂

What’s new with you?  I’d love to hear from you guys!

Here’s what’s new with me….

I’m (obviously!) registered as a blogger for the 5th annual Dark Days of Winter Eat Local Challenge.  I am really excited for this challenge because I tend to be a little bit lazy when it comes to looking for local food during non-harvest months.  Instead, I tend to hit the grocery store and stock up on organic products instead.  I’m hoping that by officially joining the challenge, I will feel more accountable to stick with it.  To be honest, I’m also hoping that it will make me feel more motivated to blog.

Some basics regarding the challenge:

It runs from November 27th through March 31st (which happens to be my birthday!)

Participants are required to integrate SOLE food into at least one meal per week and blog (how easy is that!)

Every person has a different definition of what “local” means to them.  I have defined my own foodshed as a 100-mile radius of the city of Pittsburgh.  Luckily for me, this includes a tri-state area.  I will be providing more information regarding the Pittsburgh foodshed in upcoming weeks.

You can access more information regarding the challenge at Urban Hennery.

Leave a Reply

