Weekend Recap

22 Nov

Saturday morning

My sister-in-law and I got up bright and early to go to the East Liberty Farmer’s Market Cooperative.  I was worried that there weren’t going to be a ton of vendors because its late in the season, but then realized that they are open year-round! Taking pictures while at the Farmer’s Market = FAIL!  I was too distracted by all the samples, people, meats, cheeses, vendors, well pretty much just everything.

I can’t leave you without some kind of image, so here is one I found online…

I will be taking pictures of the delicious treats I purchased 🙂

Favorite find – The Greek Gourmet had a plethora of hummus to chose from which were only 3/$10.  HELLO!  You know it was hard for me to stop at 3!  We decided to go with two sweet potato hummus (for Thanksgiving munchies) and one buffalo hummus.  I was a little nervous about that one, but luckily we were able to sample freely and I realized that it is amazing.  I will definetely be purchasing the smoked white bean hummus next time.

I also purchased an organic pork tenderloin and entire bone-in turkey breast that I am excited to feast on after Thanksgiving.

Saturday night

Babysitting the kiddos on Saturday night was amazing…it’s odd not seeing people everyday because when you finally do see them, they look so different!  For example, CJ♥ looks like he has grown a whole foot and CO♥ looks about two years older in the face.  I can’t wait to be done with school so we can move back home and see them everyday!

We decided to see Jack and Jill, Adam Sandler’s new film, late Friday night.

The movie was hysterically funny – the previews don’t even do it justice.  I was literally laughing the entire time…well almost the entire time.  Sitting down the aisle from us was a young boy with his parents.  By young I mean around 4.  Now, by the time the movie started it was already 8:30pm, so immediately I’m thinking to myself  “Is this kid going to be able to sit through this entire movie?  I mean, it’s not even a cartoon.”  Talking wasn’t the problem, though.  This child sounded like he had whooping cough.  Bad.  Every two or three minutes he was hacking and coughing so loudly that I couldn’t even pay attention to the film.  Soon, everyone in the theater began whispering about the poor child who is clearly sick and how horrible his parents are for not taking him out of the theater.  Pity for the child soon turned into a shared anger towards the parents.  I kept thinking: Are they really just going to sit there and feed him Pepsi?  He is clearly not feeling well, its clearly past his bedtime, and you are clearly irresponsible parents with no respect for the FULL theater of people you are sitting in who are trying to watch this movie.  Well the answer to that is yes.  Three quarters of the way through, people starting making loud comments like “Are you kidding me?” which were directed at the rude family.  I was absolutely apalled that people are that selfish.  Not just because they ruined a movie for over a hundred people, but because they did it while illustrating what irresponsible parents they are.

Ok, enough complaining!

Sunday

Sunday was spent with my parents and siblings, watching football and talking food.  My childhood neighbor is an avid fisherman and had dropped off some rainbow trout that he caught and smoked at home.  My mouth waters just thinking about it, which is a shame because who knows when I will be eating it again!  Football Sundays with family, smoked fish and micro-brewed beer from North Country Brewing Companyin Slippery Rock??

North Country Brewery, Slippery Rock PA

What more can a girl ask for really?  ♥

 

Leave a Reply

