Dark Days Challenge – Week One

1 Dec

Well, its my first Dark Days Challenge post and I have been really excited to write this!!!

A few weekends ago, while at the East Liberty farmer’s market, I had picked up a pork loin from the J.L. Kennedy meat stand.  I’m horrible, but I didn’t even note the price.  The meat stand was busy because people were picking up their Thanksgiving turkeys that weekend.

I have been dying to cook it because I am a huge fan of pork and I love finding excuses to eat it (as a side note, I happen to live with the pickiest eater I’ve ever met!).  It has really been a struggle to find healthy recipes that pass the test.  I went with a fail-proof marinade that works well with pork, beef or chicken: balsamic!

Marinade:
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1 T. Galena Street rub
 

I whisked the rub into the vinegar and let it sit for a few minutes, then whisked the olive oil in.  The pork loin had been defrosting in a freezer bag, so I poured the marinade directly into that, made sure all the air was out of the bag and let it sit overnight.  Today when we got home, into the oven for 1 hour at 350°!

I bake my pork loin un-covered and baste it every 15 minutes in the marinade, which works like a charm.  It was really moist and the balsamic taste isn’t overwhelming.  Even the die-hard condiment lover said she♥ didn’t even need to dress it up!!

I had some green beans in the freezer, which worked out perfectly!  I threw some cashews, dill and feta cheese on mine just to spice them up.  She♥ had a baked potato, which I opted out of.

Easy.  Delicious.  Affordable.  Local.  Can’t beat that!

2 Responses to “Dark Days Challenge – Week One”

  1. Margo January 2, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    the cashews are a nice idea in the beans. I’ve got some to use up.

    • SOLEfortheSoul January 2, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

      Margo, I’ve also used pine nuts with lemon juice. Also delish!

Leave a Reply

