Learning not to be a negative novice…

4 Dec

So I took a hint from one of my favorite bloggers: Shut Up and Run.

I can make a billion excuses for why I don’t have time to go work out, but come on.  Really, Michelle?  <– Pretty much the conversation I had with myself in my head this morning.

So I drank some coffee, ate a muffin and went to the gym.  (Mistake number 1.)

I really need to find out what works for me before a run.  I literally felt like I was going to throw up after the first quarter mile, which can pretty much ruin your momentum.  I managed to push through, but left the gym feeling pretty disappointed in myself. (Mistake number 2.)  I know that kind of self-deprecation is counter-productive, so I’m leaving it all here in this blog and walking away from it.

Goals:

Do some research and find out what fuel will work best for me.
Be my own cheerleader instead of being hard on myself.
Make sure that I stick to my training schedule.  Consistency is the only way that I am going to improve.

Now…focusing all of my energy on the Steeler game! 🙂

Leave a Reply

