Post NYE, Pre Apocalypse

3 Jan

Well, the champagne and the glitter-induced euphoria has dwindled.

Its January 3rd – the perfect time to realistically think about what goals I am setting for the upcoming year.  I’ve never been much of a fan of resolutions, they never have much backbone.  What I am a fan of is a deadline.  So the first week of the new year, I think about goals that I’d like to achieve and I set the deadline as December.

January 2011: I set a goal to be more active and make healthier choices.
December 2011:  Throughout the year, I began experimenting with fitness and running.  I started eating more whole foods, focusing on organic and local choices.  I consume less alcohol than ever.

I feel pretty good at 2011.  I even finished up 2/3 of my Master’s degree.

So how do I feel about 2012?  (sans the Mayan calandar hoopla, that is.)  So far, so good!

This year, my goals are more concise.  For one, I plan to live more sustainably.  While this may seem confusing to some who aren’t really sure what “sustainability” actually means, no worries.  Its one of my favorite things to talk about!  ♥  I will be sharing my experiences, obstacles, and successes through a 12-post installment; which allows me to track my own lifestyle choices AND educate people.

A second goal of mine is to dine out less.  While I am a foodie at heart, I have to give up my restaurant addiction.  Instead, I am going to channel my foodie knowledge and experience into cooking more at home. (Breakfast is the worst, I love Dunkin’ Donuts coffee and egg while flatbread!)

Last, I would like to run a half marathon.  I have struggled with exercise for a long time, having been an inactive kid and adult.  I have even struggled with staying committed to running.  I would like to run a 5K in May, a 10K in July and a half marathon in September.  This will probably be my biggest challenge of the year because I have this uncanny way of making excuses for everything (Changing this part of my personality is a long-term goal of mine)!

So bring it on 2012, I’m ready!

One Response to “Post NYE, Pre Apocalypse”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Declaration | SOLE for the Soul - December 27, 2013

    […] I resolved to focus more on sustainability, eat out less, and run a half marathon (specifically a few 5Ks, a […]

Leave a Reply

