Review: Szmidt’s Old World Deli

6 Mar

After hearing much internet buzz about Szmidt’s Old World Deli in Greenfield, we decided to swing by and check the place out today.  The place is quaint, but promises lunchmeats brined on site and homemade breads and pierogies.

I ordered a turkey Sassano (Reuben) and she♥ ordered a regular Sassano (Reuben) with corned beef.

Eh.

So-so.

More photogenic than tasty.

The MIL ordered the Emily, which we were told was just like a Rachel (technically what I ordered).  However, the Emily arrived with coleslaw on it instead of sauerkraut.  We ended up splitting the Emily and the turkey Sassano between the two of us so we could suffer equally.  I really need to remember to take pictures of other people’s food.  Strangers, too.

Anyway, we ordered some piergoies to try because they had been raved about – even by Munch, Pittsburgh’s version of a food critic.  This should have been a sign for me, because I have yet to agree with a single one of Munch’s reviews.

Disgusting.

Where is the filling?  All I taste is dough, which was not made well.

What is up with the dough?  It tastes like bread, not pierogie dough.

Why is it greasy?  I know you can fry them in oil, but damn.

Don’t be mistaken because of my incredible, photography.  This lunch was a huge let down, which makes me sad because the owner seemed really nice.  Maybe it just wasn’t for us.

Some other thoughts on Szmidt’s:

Once we were presented with our food – every employee subsequently disappeared.  Thanks for being available if I needed another drink.

$8 for a sandwich.  Like just a sandwich.  This is Greenfield Avenue not Ellsworth, what the…

FAIL.

 

3 Responses to “Review: Szmidt’s Old World Deli”

  1. Lindsay March 6, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    Interesting. I’ve heard really good things as well, but I only get to Greenfield if I have a volleyball game there.
    I still want to try it out for myself (I’m a sucker for local family-run joints… and polish food), but that sucks it didn’t live up to your expectations. 😦

  2. John Dallor March 24, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    I have eaten at Szmidt’s numerous times. It has never been anything short of fantastic. It is a shame that you felt differently. I have gotten to know the owner quite well, as time has passed and he is very concerned with customer service and satisfaction, you would have been better served mentioning your dissatisfaction with him as opposed to writing such a downright mean review. Small places such as Szmidt’s live and die with online reviews. I have noticed a trend in the “Blogger” world that people actually enjoy bashing places before they have taken the proper steps to try to amend problems. Its almost like Vultures sitting in a tree waiting to swoop down and tear apart. Also. It is clear that you are not a foodie because a “Rachel” is made with Cole slaw. and pierogies are supposed to be doughy and greasy. If you are going to be a critic educate your self first.

    Long live Szmidt’s
    John N Dallor

    • SOLEfortheSoul March 24, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      I appreciate what you are saying, but I do think I wrote a “downright mean review.” I am, however, entitled to my opinion and my experience at Szmidt’s was less than stellar. After our food was served to us, both the owner and the employee disappeared until we looking like we were leaving (which I’m sure they noticed in the security camera pointed at our table). No one came out to ask us how our food was, nor was I able to get a refill. As a customer, those things get annoying very quickly. We were also told by the owner that the “Rachel” had sauerkraut, thus the confusion. I hear what you’re saying about customer service, but I honestly feel that what I experienced didn’t match up to things I had heard/read. I also appreciate you voicing your opinion here as well, as each place deserves a well-balanced perspective. To each his own I guess 🙂

Leave a Reply

