Food-gasm: SMOKE

14 Mar

Let me start by saying that as a resident of West Homestead, I am ashamed that my first visit to SMOKE was yesterday.

How have I lived without this?

I’m really not sure.  Not only is the food amazing, but the proprietor, Nelda, was incredibly sweet to us.

SMOKE is located in the 8th Avenue corridor of West Homestead, in what used to be the historic Leona theater.

(FYI – the only day they are closed is Monday.)

When I entered the restaurant, it struck me how empty it looked.  The mis-matched tables and reclaimed wood used throughout the dining area is incredibly charming and as a student of sustainability, I appreciate reused materials.  We beat the lunch rush, which is good because from what I hear it gets incredibly busy.

As you can see, their menu is very limited.  She♥ felt like that was a drawback because it only appeals to a specific clientele (i.e. people who like to eat tacos!).  After tasting their food, I realized that a restaurant is able to have such a limited menu if each item they do offer is incredible.  I had been recommended something with chorizo, which I generally like.  But when I noticed the apricot habañero sauce and caramelized onions of the pork taco, I knew I had found what I was looking for.  I also ordered a chicken taco with bacon, cheddar, and smoked jalapeño mayo for later.  I honestly was a little overwhelmed because I wanted one of EVERYTHING.

The second page of the menu promises:  “Never a day old tortilla!”  And they mean it.

While we didn’t order any sides, she♥ ordered a Mexican Coke (made with cane sugar instead of corn syrup – which actually doesn’t taste better, just flat) and I of course ordered a Diet Coke.  I am only bringing this up because of the price for these two items.

¡Ay, Caramba!

I have never paid $1.50 for a CAN OF DIET COKE in my entire life.  I didn’t want to do it, SMOKE, but point deduction for that one.

Thankfully the food is so mouth-watering, amazingly fresh, disgustingly delicious, food-gasmically good that I didn’t even care about the beverage robbery.

Here is what the pork taco looks like:

Since SMOKE is within walking distance of my house, I will warn you that you are going to get sick of hearing about this place.  ♥

Leave a Reply

