Brussells and BBQ

1 Apr

I couldn’t stay away!!!  I had to share these amazing Brussels sprouts.  Its pretty quick and easy!!

I adapted this from a lot of different recipes, but I like Ina Garten’s description the best:  “I like my Brussels sprouts salty, like french fries.”  Well me too, Ina, me too.

First, preheat the oven to 400°F.

I cut off the ends of all my Brussels sprouts and separated them onto a paper towel so that I could just throw the whole thing into the composting bucket.

Put your sprouts into a medium to large bowl

Then throw your scraps into your compost bucket!

Ick!  Back to the yummy part..

Coal your sprouts in olive oil and put lots of sea salt on them.  (I don’t feel bad loading up on salt with these, because our diet is pretty low in sodium.)

Place these on a baking sheet lined in tin foil (I don’t trust any chemicals in pans) in a SINGLE LAYER.

In my oven, which I suspect is a little off as far as temperature, these took 20 minutes.  I stir mine every 5 minutes religiously, because I hate when they are too brown.  In the last 5 minutes, I add another thin coating of salt.

And then Yum!

We had ours with these yummy BBQ boneless ribs:

Leave a Reply

