Supremely Supreme

4 Apr

So, I might have outdone myself tonight the last 2 days.  I’d love to act like Martha Stewart and act like I just “whipped something right up!”  I’m not that spontaneous.  I’m actually quite calculated, stressing for days in advance about a dish I want to make because I don’t want to mess it up.  Cooking isn’t like that, though.  You have to be accepting of failure.  And sometimes not even failure, just miscalculations or errors in judgment.  Inexperience.

I am slowly learning to get better at all this, but I still tend to plan things out.  Take your time to add things that seem little, but make all the difference.

So yesterday, I planned to make a Strawberry Supreme Cake for the MIL’s birthday (which is today!)

Let me tell ya…

It was the bomb.  I’ve got an 8″ white cake on top of a 9″ white cake.  In between I’ve got some strawberry puree, fresh cut strawberries and this amazing Cool Whip layer, which I mixed together the night before:

4 c. fresh strawberries, mashed
14 oz. can condensed milk
1/4 c. lemon juice
8 oz. tub of Cool Whip, defrosted
 

After mixing it, I lined another 9″ cake pan with tin foil and poured the mixture in.  Then, I wrapped the cakes in plastic wrap and let it sit overnight in the fridge.  You know what else I put in there?  In my Kitchen Aid’s mixing bowl and whisk, I put in my vanilla and my heavy whipping cream (still in the containers of course) and covered it with plastic wrap.

(If you want your cream to whip into nice, stiff peaks, it’s best to chill all the equipment/ingredients overnight!)

About 3 hours before we were going to head over to MIL’s house, I got my ingredients out and made the Strawberry Whipped Frosting for the outside of the cake:

2 c. heavy whipping cream
1 t. vanilla
4 T. granulated sugar
1 c. strawberry pureé
 

Basically, you just put everything in the stand mixer and set it to medium until your frosting holds its shape (aka stiff peaks).

I had to assemble the cake and get the frosting bag ready, so I put the frosting (still in the metal bowl from the mixer) in the fridge and covered it with plastic wrap.  I always push the plastic wrap against the frosting, so that it doesn’t lose its consistency.  Once everything was ready, I covered the entire thing with a layer of frosting:

(The lack of photos of individual steps is due to the fact that I was covered in frosting fairly early in this procedure.

Voila!  Obviously, this picture was taken while we were dishing it out, but it gives you a good idea of how I set the layers up.

In between the Cool Whip layer and the 8″ white cake, I put thin strawberry slices and strawberry pureé (throw 20 oz. strawberries in a food processor with 1/4 c. granulated sugar).

I had tons of the strawberry whipped icing left, so I piped little rosettes onto the cake and stuck some extra strawberries in.

Fancy pants.

♥♥Happy Birthday MIL♥♥

Leave a Reply

