Some bunny’s exhausted…

7 Apr

Ahhh, the day before Easter.  Being currently childless, I can enjoy myself in ways that other people can’t.  For example, I don’t have to dye eggs, nor do I have to hard boil any.  Yet, I will be able to indulge in deviled eggs all day tomorrow.  Why?  Because everyone else’s children have done the work for me.  Score one for the ladies who are waiting until they are ready to have kids, to have kids!

So how did I chose to enjoy my egg-free day?  By baking and cooking all day long, of course!  I’m saving my Easter goodies to post with my Easter recap, but today I thought I would leave you with a yummy, healthy, springy dinner recipe ♥

Caprise-Inspired Chicken with Creamed Leeks & Red Potatoes

Definitely start the potatoes & leeks first.  You could even braise the leeks the NIGHT before and refrigerate them.

First, boil some salted water and quarter 1 1/4 lb. of red potatoes.  Boil the potatoes until they are fork tender.

In the meantime, work on your 5 cups of sliced leeks:

For this side, I only used the white and light green part of the leek, which I sliced super duper thin.

As shown above, I tossed them into a frying pan with 1 cup of chicken broth, 2 T. butter, some salt and pepper and a pinch of saffron.

I love saffron ♥  I need to use it more, I think.

Keep those leeks on a gentle boil until the liquid is almost gone; if you’ve prepped the leeks before you started then it will take about as long as your potatoes take to cook.

Drain the potatoes and keep them in the pot with the lid on.

Add 1/3 c. heavy cream to the leeks and bring it to a simmer.  Then, you can toss the creamed leeks into the potatoes and mix it up.

Caprise-Inspired Chicken

I love the idea of caprise salads, but I cannot stand cherry tomatoes.  Everything in me wants to like them, but I just can’t get past the texture.  So, I made a caprise chicken without the cherry tomatoes 🙂

This dinner is nice and quick – perfect for tonight since I’ve been so busy making things for tomorrow!

You will need boneless, skinless chicken breasts; some fresh basil; and as many slices of deli mozzarella as you have chicken.  (I made 3 chicken breasts).

Cut a slit in the chicken breast to make a pocket.  Fold a piece of deli cheese in half and sandwich it between 2 fresh basil leaves.  Stuff the chicken with this and then use toothpicks of a bamboo skewer to hold closed.  I sprinkled salt and pepper on one side of the chicken and then moved it to a medium-hot pan with olive oil.

Make sure you put the salted/peppered side DOWN (I didn’t do this and regretted it.)

Cook for 6 minutes, uncovered and then flip the chicken over.  Turn the heat down to low, salt and pepper the remaining side of the chicken and put the lid on.  Cook until the chicken isn’t pink anymore!

I let mine sit extra long so that by the time we were ready to eat, the cheese was literally oozing out of the chicken.  So yummy, so light, so low cal.  Which is perfect, because I’m sure I will have more than my share tomorrow ♥

♥Hope you all enjoy your Easter (or Passover!)

Leave a Reply

