Easter Endurance

8 Apr

Well the morning starting in a frenzy.  I had slept in longer than planned (I wanted to jog this morning so I could spend Easter a little more guilt-free.)

We were off to my parents (an hour away) by 9:30!

Well, hello Easter!

And (as predicted), plenty of beautifully dyed eggs…

Almost immediately, jelly bean boredom started to set in over the kitchen…

It was clearly time to start getting some appetizers made so that we could munch on healthier stuff!

If you’re from New Castle, Pennsylvania then you know what Mary’s Restaurant is.  And you know how excited I was to find out my mom had saved some of her hummus from the night before…

Chic plating, I know.  Be impressed with our domesticity.

Oh, the eggs.  How darling are these…

Easy enough to make, just cut 1/3 of the egg off instead of halving it (like you normally would to make deviled eggs).

Keep the caps to use as hats, and then just add some olive and carrot to make faces.  Every other part of making deviled eggs is the same!

I mean, how adorable are these eggs?  How have I lived 28 years and NOT thought to do this?  No idea…

Don’t you hate waiting?

The food was finished relatively early, with of course my dad having to take over mashing the potatoes.  For whatever reason, my mom is incapable of making mashed potatoes without lumps.  Its the one thing I can always remember my dad handling in the kitchen.

Yummmmmmmmm!  Best!!!!

Everything turned out really well, especially the ham…

I made my famous three-cheese macaroni with cauliflower…

And overall, everything was amazing!!

Easter Part 1 was pretty good, but we had to get back to Pittsburgh because we had another dinner to get ready for…

Lordy, lordy.  Thankfully we didn’t eat Easter “dinner” until around 6, because I was stuffed.

As usual, things at her♥ mom’s were amazing in general…

I could burst.

I even let my mac & cheese broil differently, and I believe it turned out better the second time:

We even got some Easter baskets at the end of the day from the MIL♥

She’s pretty much adorable…

I’m exhausted, full of ham and regretting giving all my candy to DR♥ because I am really craving some candy and that damn bunny didn’t bring me a thing!

3 Responses to “Easter Endurance”

  1. Amanda April 8, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    I am regretting you giving all your candy to DR too! He is going to have a killer chocolate hangover tomorrow!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Giving ♥ Thanks « SOLE for the Soul - November 25, 2012

    […] recipe of my go-to holiday dish.  In fact, last year I made this Food Network Magazine dish for Easter.  This year, I made this mac & cheese to my parents house, where my brother turned sous chef […]

Leave a Reply

