Harris Grill, Shadyside

13 Apr

Having visited for lunch the day before with a friend, she♥ insisted that we stop in for lunch the next day.  Seriously, I know its praise but she wouldn’t stop talking about it.  What’s a foodie to do?

She♥ requested the balcony seating near the window, which conveniently was open.  Apparently this place is crawling at night, but for lunch it was very quiet and intimate.

Our view…

Gorg.

The food was amazing, their menu is full of quirky names for food which makes it easy to imagine large crowds gathering at night.  That and the amazing patio out front.  We’ve walked past in the evening and the place is a madhouse!

I ordered the “Aw, You’re Pulling My Pork” sandwich, made from scrumptious shoulder pork.  Its apparently slathered in something called Big Gay Al’s Strawberry Chipotle Barbecue Sauce.  Never heard of it, but Big Gay Al gets my stamp of approval.

The sandwich came with a side of coleslaw and a Greek salad.  I feel horrible, but I didn’t touch the salad.  I put a little bit of coleslaw on that bad boy and I went to town.  Fat kid style.

Everytime I eat pulled pork, I try to recreate the best pulled pork sandwich I’ve ever had, which was from a food cart at the Midsummer Music Festival at Rock Falls Park in Slippery Rock.

Seriously.

Also, big brownie points with me is the use of buns sourced from Allegro Bakery in Squirrel Hill.  Big thumbs up to Harris Grill for locally sourcing!

Harris Grill is awesome!  I definitely recommend going there for lunch, but we might have to stop by in the evening for some drinks once of these days.  It happens to be located in Gay Central Station.  😉

Leave a Reply

