Parmesan Crusted Pork Chops and Other Nonsense

20 May

Well, I am using this post to procrastinate from something I should be doing – research for grad school.

Oops.

I realize this is a little bit late, but earlier in the week I made something yummmmyyyyyyyy!!!

Do you remember what it was?

Okay, okay….I’ll remind you what it was!

Parmesan Crusted Pork Chops with Mushroom & Shallot Sauce

Uh, yeah.  I made that.  I’m a boss bitch.

 

I kind of used a smush between SkinnyTaste’s Mushroom & Shallot Sauce and my own pork chop.

Here’s what you’re going to need:

2 bone-in pork chops                     10 oz. baby bellas, sliced
1 c. panko bread crumbs              1/4 c. shallots, sliced
1.2 c. Parmesan cheese                 1 c. sodium free chicken stock
1/4 c. flour                                       1 T. dijon mustard
1 egg, beaten                                   2 T. fresh parsley
 

First thing is first – preheat your oven to 425°F. 

Season your porkchops with salt and pepper.  Then dip them in a shallow dish full of the flour.  Dip them in the egg and them dip them in the panko & Parm mixture.  I place anything I bread on a cooling rack and then on a cookie sheet (yeah, like the stuff you use for baking) and put it in the fridge for AT LEAST 30 minutes.  I just feel like the breading stays on better that way.

When I’m ready, I heat up a few tablespoons of canola oil in my 10″ skillet and brown over medium heat.  It should only take about 2 minutes per side.

Sorry, the lighting in my kitchen gives everything a nice jaundice tone.

(Side note: I just googled “funny jaundice” and that shit is not funny.  At all.)

Pop the browned pork chops in a baking dish and put them in the oven.  They are going to cook for 15 minutes, so now you are going to get busy with the sauce.

I ASSUME you already have your veg prepped…

If you don’t know who that is a picture of, leave this blog and never come back!

Just kidding, most people my age don’t give a crap about Julia, my hero ♥

See how I procrastinate?

So the Mushroom and Shallot Sauce:

In the same pan that your pork chops were just browning in, place your slide shallots and cook them for about 3 minutes (until they start to look edible).  Immediately add the 1 c. chicken stock to “deglaze the pan.”  My pan didn’t have too much that needed deglazing, so I just added the mustard, mushrooms and pepper to taste.

It SHOULD look kind of like liquidy mushroom soup.  Skinny taste said cook for 3 minutes, but I found that my mushrooms weren’t as soft as I like them.  Also, I found that most of the chicken broth didn’t reduce.

So…I added a tsp of flour and it thickened right up:

I know that looks like gravy, but it does not taste like gravy.

I’ve been spoiled with mushrooms because I make amazing mushrooms.  I normally just cook them in oil and then simmer with wine until they reduce to deliciousness.  These mushrooms were different.  They complimented the pork chop well, because of the breading.  However, I think next time I will just stick to my old mushroom standard!

So there you have it – 15 minutes to Heaven:

Yeah buddy!

Speaking of Texas, is anyone else as excited as I am for tonight:

Leave a Reply

