Redecorating With Red Pepper Soup

23 May

Today I was CRAVING vegetables.  Must be the gorgeous weather or my elevated levels of working out, but I needed red pepper soup.  So, I made some!  I made it this afternoon and I reheated it for dinner.

It is super easy, you guys and a really healthy, seasonal side.

First I put 2 cups of wine into a soup pot and heated it over medium heat for just a few minutes.

I know you’re supposed to cook with a wine that you would drink and not some grocery story “cooking wine,” so I headed to the liquor store and somehow ended up leaving with this:

Tell-tale sign of an amateur cook:  I have no idea what it tastes like, what chardonnay tastes like or what the heck Fish Eye is, but it was inexpensive and I liked the label! Whatever, once it started heating up, it smelled amazing.

I quickly added in 1 medium chopped onion, 5 chopped roasted red peppers (I had Reese’s brand in my fridge which were marinated in olive oil and garlic), and 2 cups of chopped celery.

I stirred this constantly for 3 minutes (partly because I’m neurotic and partly because I’m winging most of this stuff).  Then added some garlic:

I let that cook a little longer…hung out….checked out how happy my compost bin looks again now that its not empty…

Not so yum.  But happy, nonetheless.

After I stopped chasing butterflies, I added some tomatoes:

And then some tomato paste:

And 2 cups of chicken broth:

Then it started looking like a soup and not some alcoholic vegetarian treasure pot.

I covered it and brought it to a boil.  Then I let it simmer for around 30 minutes.

Here’s where it gets tricky.  The recipe I was following said to put the soup into a food processor or blender and puree it.

So I did tried.

You see what happened was….

I filled my blender too full.  And it exploded.  I mean exploded everywhere.

Luckily, my iPhone in my WHITE Otterbox was on the other side of the room.  Trust me, there was soup in the toaster, in a Yankee candle, all over the stove, dripping down the cabinets and all over one of the dogs. OBVIOUSLY I’m not going to put my phone in jeopardy to take a photo of this mess.

But eventually, I did get the puree I needed (in more reasonable batches).

One Response to “Redecorating With Red Pepper Soup”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Try to have a flashback… « SOLE for the Soul - May 31, 2012

    […] ‘Member that roasted red pepper soup I was talking about forever ago? […]

Leave a Reply

