Giving ♥ Thanks

25 Nov

I hope your Thanksgiving was amazing!  Mine pretty much was.  We had a lot of running around to do, but it’s so worth it when you get to see ALL the people you care about.

I try to bring at least a dish to every holiday dinner we attend, so I’m sharing the recipe of my go-to holiday dish.  In fact, last year I made this Food Network Magazine dish for Easter.  This year, I made this mac & cheese to my parents house, where my brother turned sous chef assisted me!  He was my master cheese grater – which was what I was most thankful for during this meal.  I have a pinched nerve in my shoulder and I don’t think I would have been able to grate 3 bricks of cheese.

While your brother gives himself carpel tunnel grating cheese, this is a great opportunity to dive into the antipasto tray your mom has prepared.

YUM.

What You Need:
  • 1/2 head of cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 1 egg
  • nutmeg, cayenne pepper, salt, & pepper
  • 1 3/4 c. muenster cheese, grated
  • 1/2 c. cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1/2 c. Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 4 c. medium shells

    Directions:

    In a large stockpot full of salted water, cook cauliflower florets until tender.  Remove from water to cool.

    1 lg. head of cauliflower

    Add medium shells to the water in the stockpot, and cook until al dente.  Drain, but reserve 1/4 c. water.

    Whisk together evaporated milk & egg, along with a pinch of nutmeg, a pinch of cayenne pepper, & a pinch of both salt & pepper.

    In a saucepan, combine milk mixture and cheeses over medium heat.  Stir frequently, until cheese melts and sauce becomes thick.

    Add cauliflower to cheese mixture and combine.

    Transfer the cauliflower & cheese mix to food processor, using 1/4 c. reserved cauliflower water.  Puree until smooth.

    Mix the puree into the shells.

    Move to a baking dish, top with remaining cheese and broil until crispy & brown.

 

Leave a Reply

