New.

4 Jan

Last January 3rd, I sat down and attempted to realistically examine my goals for 2012.  I wouldn’t call these goals “resolutions” exactly, just a few things that I can improve on.  I think that the timeline of January-January is so appealing because it makes it easier to visualize things in the long term.

Anyway, my non-resolutions for last year were:

1.  Live more sustain-ably.

I feel that we do make more educated purchases – we try to reuse things or buy used things; we recycle regularly; we often walk to work; we don’t waste things; we buy organic and local food; we support local businesses; we attempted to compost (the dogs kept digging up the compost and eating it – disgusting).

There are always 012398502938502398xinfinity ideas that I have to lessen our carbon footprint and promote sustainability in our region.  I’m excited to see what 2013 has in store for us and to see what additional changes we make.  For example, I haven’t given up on composting – I just need to figure out something that works for us.  I also need to find a use for compost because I don’t garden.

2.  Eat out less.

We eat out 80% less than we did in 2011.  I think that this has a lot to do with the fact that we were enrolled in school full-time and renting an apartment with no access to treated water.

Our baby apartment - 2 people, 2 dogs & 1 cat

Our baby apartment – 2 people, 2 dogs & 1 cat

Oh, the things we do for love (dog-love in this case, because Slippery Rock is NOT a dog-friendly place for renters).

ChiefandChristina

3.  Run a half marathon.

Now, people.  Obviously I haven’t been running anywhere, especially not towards the finish line of a half marathon.  In 2012, I actually had very little commitment to being healthy. It is much easier for me to continue unhealthy patterns and blame my always high stress.  I’m the first to use my low energy levels as an excuse to get out of exercising.  To get out of anything, really.

Posting these hard truths aren’t for you.  Its for me, because once I put it out there – I have to deal with it and face it.  Sometime in 2012, I have become lazy!  My lack of motivation and energy are a self-fulfilling prophecy.  I convince myself that I have no energy, so I avoid physical activities.  But continual avoidance of physical activities has drained my energy even more!  I supplement my low-energy with caffeine, which dehydrates me and drains my energy even more.

The worst part of all this?  I KNOW ITS HAPPENING.  I know its happening, and yet I remain like a hamster on a wheel.  Continuing on the same path but going no where.  It makes me sick to think about it!

While it has been my pattern for the last year, my setbacks don’t define me.

In 2013, I will turn 29 years old.  29 friggin years old.  I will save the anxiety I have about turning 30 for another post.  The point is that this isn’t the size I want to be in my engagement pictures or my wedding pictures.  Who knows how far away that horizon is, but I’m choosing not to be this size anymore.

In 2013, I will turn 29.  I will graduate with my Master’s degree.  I will be a second-year small business owner.  I refuse to let lingering unrealized goals drag me down, when I’m going the opposite direction.

Yeah, that just happened.  Its 2013.

2 Responses to “New.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In Training for Training « SOLE for the Soul - February 18, 2013

    […] January when I discussed my goals for the year, I recycled one from last year: running. Up until a few weeks ago, my training was inconsistent. […]

  2. Declaration | SOLE for the Soul - December 27, 2013

    […] From my postings, I seemed to feel unresolved regarding 2012.  I was disappointed with my running progress and my […]

Leave a Reply

