Here’s To Today

10 Jan

Its almost Friiiiiiidaaaaaay!!!

I can hardly stand it.

I thought I would check in while I am waiting for my cloth diapers to dry.

No, silly – I didn’t have a baby.  I have been working all week at Changin’ Time while she♥ is running electrical in my kitchen.  You have no idea how long I’ve been waiting for this!!  We are about to be one giant leap closer to being finished with our kitchen and I couldn’t be more thrilled.

Speaking of the kitchen, I was beginning to feel a little down on myself because on Tuesday, my food tracker told me I was a little piggy.  Last night I decided to figure out where things went horribly wrong and as it turns out, I mis-logged my portions.  I basically made it look like I had eaten 2 1/2 x what I actually did.  I couldn’t figure out how I could feel so hungry, but have eaten so little.  I mean, don’t get me wrong.  I’ve got a LONG way to go, but I’m getting there.  I’m ashamed to say it, but this is an improvement since the holidays.  I was on a cookie binge!

Things were looking much better after that:

IMG_4281

Even just keeping track of my meals for 2 days has really helped me figure out what my problem is.  For example, on Wednesday, I knew breakfast was a problem.  After my morning walk, I grabbed an peanut butter english muffin and a banana and headed to my home office to work for a few hours.  Several hours later, but still well before lunch, she♥ surprised me with a cup of McDonald’s fruit & maple oatmeal and a black coffee (yes, she♥ does read my blog!).

Fruit.MapleOatmeal.McDonalds

That kind of sent me over the edge.

NutritionFacts.McDonaldsOatmeal

Insta-regret.  32 grams of sugar = not good.  And the 57g of carbs are racking me full of guilt.  And that was only breakfast.

Another thing I’ve noticed about my eating habits is that I am always feeling ill prepared.  I’m more likely to fall into old habits (like having Subway twice in 2 days!) when I haven’t provided myself with better options.  Taking the time out to pack healthy snacks is critical.

I might have not fallen into the Subway trap at 4:30 yesterday if I had packed something substantial for lunch.  But, falling into old habits as usual, I thought I would try to skip lunch to make up for breakfast.  FAIL.  Of course that would fail, it doesn’t even make sense.  Food is fuel and by 4:30 yesterday, I was running on fumes and coffee.

YOU GUYS, speaking of coffee…

Even though its been less than a week without drinking pop, I swear my caffeine tolerance has bottomed out.  Normally, I’m blowing through coffee, Diet Coke & Sugar-Free Red Bull until I crawl into bed.  Now, I am drinking coffee in the morning and then water the rest of the day.  Last night, I thought I would make myself a cup of coffee for the walk home.

BAD IDEA.

I was completely wired until well after 1:00 a.m.  Thus, me setting my alarm for 8:00 a.m. instead of 7:00.  Lesson learned, peeps, lesson friggin’ learned.
Only in EMERGENCIES will I drink coffee after 3 p.m.

coffeeemergency

Leave a Reply

