Agave-Maple & Soy Glazed Salmon

15 Jan

If you follow any of my social media (Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram), which I hope you do, you probably noticed a yummy little piece of salmon on Monday.

AMSSalmon.Plated

I could eat this exact meal every. single. day.  It was so good, I thought I would share!

Agave-Maple & Soy Glazed Salmon (from Grandma’s Kitchen)

2 salmon filets (skin optional)
1/4 c. maple syrup, honey, or syrupy liquid of your choice
2 T. soy sauce
2 t. grated gingerroot
1 clove minced garlic
1/2 t. red pepper flakes
chopped green onion (for garnish)

Crank the broiler to 500°F.  While it is heating up, combine all ingredients but salmon into a small pot.

Step1

Step2

I went a little heavy on the ginger, simply because I love it!

And finally, the 1/4 c. syrup.

This is a new-to-me ingredient.  In fact, I rarely even use syrup, let alone fancy maple syrup.  I guess it seems so fancy with the heavy price tag!  So, I splurged and bought this at the grocery store.

AgaveMapleSyrup

Cook over medium-low heat until the mixture has reduced by half.  I used my gas range and stainless steel pot, so this took about 6-7 minutes for me.  Stir this constantly.  Syrup can heat unevenly and burn very quickly.  I set a timer and stirred the entire time.  Annoying, but it worked out perfectly.  Once the mixture is reduced, brush it over the salmon and pop them in the broiler for about 6 minutes.  The key to getting a nice caramelized glaze on the fish is having the broiler hot enough, and the fish far enough from the heat source so that it doesn’t burn.  Watch your fish closely, because with my oven, I swear 30 seconds can make all the difference.

The original recipe used these measurements for 4 salmon filets, but since the maple agave syrup is thinner than maple syrup I’ve had before, I decided I would rather have leftover than not enough.  Because I cooked the glaze longer to thicken it, rather than waiting until it reduced by half, I ended up with only a tiny bit left over.  Sometimes you just have to wing it and see if it works out.

Luckily, it did!

AMSSalmon.Plated

I served it with broiled sweet potatoes, a protein-packed dinner to celebrate small achievements!

Leave a Reply

