Franktuary, finally.

20 Jan

Yes, I am a foodie.  Yes, I strive to be a locavore.  Yes, I want food produced as sustainably as possible.  Yes, I want hotdogs.

You heard me – hot dogs.

My favorite food in the world.

I can’t get enough.

And now that I’ve had Franktuary, my life may be complete.

If you’re involved in the Pittsburgh food scene, you are probably reading this post and wondering what took me so long to get over to Franktuary.  To be honest, we’ve been trying to consciously eat out less and when we do, we don’t travel far from the Waterfront.  But when she♥ and I decided to have an impromptu afternoon date, I jumped at the chance to try the place out.

We opted for the Lawrenceville location (there is a Franktuary downtown, and – how cool is this – they have a food truck).  It was hipster heaven, and I initially felt out of place in my paint-tattered yoga pants and naked face.  But, the menu was so much fun, the bartender was nice and snarky, and I mean, its Lawrenceville (home of hobo-chic).

Anyway, back to the dogs.  Franktuary’s mission is basically a farm-to-table wiener with foodie appeal.  You can see a copy of their menu here.  I was dying to try some of the awesome styles, especially the “Bangkok” which included Thai peanut sauce, carrot, and cilantro.  I have never seen hot dogs treated this way!

Despite the temptation, I’m ultimately a hot dog minimalist.

Here’s what we ended up with:

Image

From left: a standard with beer-cheese topping, a standard with sauerkraut, a locavore with Miller’s mustard, and in the middle – Pittsburgh-style pierogies.

She♥ loved her 2 standard dogs, which were all-beef.  The cheese sauce was tasty and the kraut was good.

I, however, had mixed feelings about my locavore.

Image

Something was off.  The locavore is made from local grass-fed beef, but as you can see is a strange color.  The texture was a little bit off, too.  Perhaps that’s why they added the excessive amount of the tangy Miller’s mustard?  I wouldn’t say I was disappointed, but next time I might opt for the “Underdog,” which is made from New Zealand grass-fed beef.

I will sacrifice local for sustainable & tasty if I have to.

Moving on, I believe Franktuary has the best pierogies I have ever eaten.

Image

Seriously, so good.  They had potato and farmer’s cheese in them.  (Farmer’s cheese seemed to imply some kind of local farm, but you can never really be sure.)

I will 100% go back to Franktuary and I will 100% order the garbanzo fries.  I didn’t even notice them on the menu until I was looking at it online to write this post!  Also,  I will be sure to go back once the weather gets nice, as the Lawrenceville location has garage door-style facade.  I’m sure those have a name, but I can’t think of it right now.

Image borrowed from Yelp

Leave a Reply

