5 Thing Friday

8 Mar

Boy have I been busy lately!  I’ve been pulling longer hours at Changin’ Time, working on some new marketing projects and taking over her♥ hours so she can finish our kitchen.  I’m also in charge of planning the business conference for an association we belong to.  On top of that, we are trying for labradoodles this summer!  It’s not like any one of these things is particularly hard, it just feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day.

Meals have been quick,  easy, or ordered in.  Shame on me, I know. Even the Fish Friday series on the blog has been a dud because we really have found no reason to sway from Holy Angels, which we will be having again tonight.  Its hard to find motivation to attend another fish fry when Holy Angels’ is sooooooo good.  ♥

Instead of a Fish Friday post, I thought I would take some time to mention a some new-to-me things that I’ve tried this week.

1.  One of the items in our CostCo haul this week was almond butter.  I normally avoid the non-perishable sections of the store because it seems like too much to purchase for just 2 people.  But, I couldn’t resist:

Picture 002

I’ve been eating more bagel thins and bananas because of my running, so this will be a nice, healthy treat.  I had some on my banana today and I give it two thumbs up!

2. Since I’ve given up Diet Coke for Lent, last month I purchased a case of SanPellegrino.  Then I realized SanPellegrino has way more sugar in it than I need.  While discussing this with a nice lady at basketball practice, she suggested that I try some sparkling water with fruit essence.  (At CostCo, I found a few options near the Perrier from both Nestle and Deer Park…which coincidentally is also owned by Nestle.)  I bought the Deer Park based on price and size, which comes in four different flavors: lemon, orange (today’s pick), lime, and berry lime.

Picture 003

The lemon is HORRIBLE.  I don’t know what the hell kind of lemon essence that was supposed to taste like, but ew.  The other three are great.  It has been quite an adjustment for me because SanPellegrino is just so darn sweet and sparkling water has got quite a bite.  But, I know its better for me!

3. Inclines.  Somehow I thought that running on the treadmill without an incline was going to translate into running outside with no problems.

GIF38

Yeah, so this week has been interesting.  I’m adjusting and tomorrow is supposed to be semi-warm, so we’ll put it to the test!

4.  Chief and Hallie tied twice this week.  If all the jungle juice goes according to plan, we will have our first litter of champion-bred F1 labradoodles in May.  I am nervous because this will be Hallie’s first litter of puppies.  I am excited because she was seriously so great with Liberty’s last pups.

Picture 001

She was like the cool aunt that plays all your favorite games with you and takes you to all your favorite places and teaches you about life and then sleeps over your house because you begged and begged her to and does all the cool stuff again the next day.  I’m pretty sure she’s going to be an even better mom than Liberty was (not that she was winning any parenting awards).  We shall see.  🙂

5.  On Sunday, ABC premiered a show called Red Widow.

While I had very little desire to watch it, there just happened to be nothing else to watch or do.  Turns out, it wasn’t that bad.  It follows a wife/mom whose father is a Russian mobster.  Her husband joins the family business and smuggled marijuana into the country, but accidentally gets mixed up with a crimelord.  Someone executes the husband and the wife not only has to repay his debt to the crimelord, but take care of her grieving family, fend off a curious FBI agent, and try to solve her husband’s murder.  Since they cancelled GCB and football season is over, I’ve been looking for something to do on Sunday nights.  Hopefully ABC doesn’t pull the plug because I could potentially enjoy this one.

My life is so very exciting.

 

Leave a Reply

