♥ Doll’s Birthday ♥

12 Mar

Yesterday was a very important day: her♥ birthday.  There are 20 days a year where we are only 1 year apart in age and I like to remind her of that constantly, although she insists that she doesn’t feel as old as I do.  I’m obviously keeping her around so she keeps me young. 😉

Since our schedule has been so hectic lately, I tried to make her birthday as special as I could without taking time away from work.

On Sunday, her dad invited us over for some takeout from Bravo! Cucina Italiana.  I am not a humungo-fan of Italian food (which is odd because my parents are constantly cooking pasta dishes), so I opted for the Balsamico Cobb Salad.  I didn’t take a pic because her dad is a little weary of my phone being on me at all times.  Its nothing fancy, just a salad with egg, tomato, bacon, grilled balsamic chicken, Gorgonzola, and these little crunchy pasta pieces that reminded me of Chinese food.  I of course indulged in the creamy horseradish dressing because I am obsessed with horseradish anything.

On Monday, I basically spent the entire day in the kitchen.

I made us a larger-than-usual breakfast spread with eggs, bacon (extra-crispy), and toast.

BirthdayBreakfast

Lunch was coconut-crusted chicken tenders, Brussels sprouts, and sliced pineapple.  It didn’t even last long enough for a photo op.  Then, I immediately went home and strapped up!

Apron

She requested chocolate cake with vanilla whipped cream icing and voila…

An over-the-top, ginormous cake:

Picture 007

CakeTopDetail

Probably too much for two people, but luckily we have tons of family members we plan on pawning it off on today.  As opposed to cakes I’ve attempted in the past, this one was actually good.  I always try to get creative and use fondant, but guess what…fondant tastes like crap and as far as I’m concerned should only be used to make accents on a cake.  In your face baking shows.

She requested chicken fettuccine alfredo with broccoli for dinner, which I obliged.  We had tried this flax seed pasta by Hodgson Mills in the past, but always with red sauce.

Picture 012

(Yes, we are still under construction.  Miss Perfectionist refuses to primer until the mudding and sanding is impeccable.)

I still love the pasta, but I will never again make it with alfredo.  It just…wasn’t good.  Like the pasta absorbed the alfredo or something.  I actually can’t put my finger on exactly what happened, but just trust me on this.  Skip the alfredo with the flax seed pasta.  We basically just ate around it and had alfredo chicken and broccoli.  Oopsie!

Anyway, my doll♥ seemed to have a good birthday even though dinner was ruined because of my insistence on eating healthier.  Cheers to another orbit around the sun 🙂

Leave a Reply

