Mushroom & Creamed Spinach Smothered Chicken

14 Mar

MSSChicken.Titled

So, I think this might be one of my new favorite meals.  I personally needed a break from clean eating, so this was a nice treat for me.

(This recipe was adapted from Bacon, Butter, Cheese & Garlic.)

Prep:  Preheat the oven to 350ºF.

I always start by chopping my veggies first and kind of setting them aside.  It’s less stressful and it obviously allows me to manage my time better.

Garlic1

Mushrooms2

Once the prep is done, I rinsed the chicken breasts, trimmed the fat, patted them dry, and seasoned BOTH sides with my seasonings of choice (get creative!).  Then, I put them in the pre-heated oven and set a timer for 25 minutes.

ChickenRub

The creamed spinach took about 10 minutes to make: sauteed onion & spinach mixed with creamed cheese and garlic.

CreamedSpinach1

Don’t be afraid to experiment a little with you perfect spinach to cheese ratio (I added a TON more spinach after taking this picture!).  I found that I needed a bag and a half of spinach per 4 pats of creamed cheese.  That way, I could use the creamed spinach to smother the chicken and have a little leftover as a side.

I love these Alouette garlic & herb pats of creamed cheese that I snagged a CostCo a while back.  They are a great full flavor alternative to regular cream cheese.

Alouettes

I use the exact same method to cook my mushrooms regardless of how I’m going to use them.  You can saute them in oil and butter (or both) until they are browned.  Deglazing is optional, but if you chose to do so you can use chicken stock or wine.  It basically just depends on your preference.

But, NEVER salt mushrooms until they are done cooking.  Salting mushrooms while they are cooking will result in shrunken, shriveled shrooms and nobody wants that.

Mushrooms3

Then, I layered:

Layer2

Layer3

I added some salt to the mushrooms here and then topped with the cheese.

Layer4

I pulled it out when the meat thermometer hit 170ºF.

Finished

So friggin’ good.

SSMChicken.Plated2

67 Responses to “Mushroom & Creamed Spinach Smothered Chicken”

  1. Kasey September 6, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    When you put the chicken back in the oven with all the toppings, how long is it in for? do you cover it?

    • SOLEfortheSoul September 6, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      Kasey, I don’t cover mine because I like the cheese to get really crispy and browned. Since all of the ingredients are cooked, you are just hearing through to combine the flavors. In my gas stove it took about 15 minutes.

      • Kasey February 10, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

        Thank you!

      • Sydney May 25, 2016 at 11:02 am #

        Is there a print version from your site? I did not easily locate one, did I miss it?

      • Jake June 10, 2016 at 12:48 pm #

        Looks good but without a printable recipe it is useless. I can’t practically use a 17 page recipe.

      • Emma Beal November 27, 2016 at 3:36 pm #

        Jake: WordPress.com doesn’t allow plugins that make recipes printable.

  2. kellie d September 17, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

    What type of cheese did you bake over the chicken?

  3. LaLa January 16, 2014 at 1:46 pm #

    This looks sooooo delish! I’m definitely going to have to try this!!!

    • SOLEfortheSoul January 16, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

      I insist that you do!! Let me know how it turns out. 🙂

  4. Jane Hanna March 13, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

    Hi, my sisters friend sent this to her on face book, and she told me about it. It looks soooo good and I don’t like spinach. I can’t wait to make it!

    • SOLEfortheSoul March 13, 2014 at 9:56 pm #

      Oh, cool!!! That’s awesome, let me know how it turns out!! 🙂

  5. Tine Pledger March 23, 2014 at 8:26 am #

    White onion? Chopped? How much onion do I use in this recipe. Please advise? Would like to try it.

    • SOLEfortheSoul March 23, 2014 at 8:28 am #

      No onion!

      • Joyce February 18, 2015 at 8:28 pm #

        You state onion in your recipe. I did a copy/paste of your recipe…here it is :The creamed spinach took about 10 minutes to make: sauteed onion & spinach mixed with creamed cheese and garlic.

      • SOLEfortheSoul February 18, 2015 at 8:38 pm #

        Joyce, I’m so sorry for the confusion. There is no onion, I will edit that out. Although, if you wanted to add some it would certainly still be delish!!! Thanks for letting me know about the inconsistency 🙂

    • Chistine Starr May 2, 2014 at 11:33 am #

      Delicious recipes. Sides were asparagus and brown rice.

      • SOLEfortheSoul May 2, 2014 at 11:34 am #

        Excellent! Thanks for the comment!

    • Becky October 9, 2015 at 12:24 am #

      Onion… lots! if you like it, and some (1/4 c) for a bit of flavor if you’re not a fan.

  6. Wanda May 19, 2014 at 9:28 am #

    I wish there was a way to print the recipe without it being several pages long.

    • SOLEfortheSoul May 19, 2014 at 10:27 am #

      Thanks for the feedback, Wanda! I will look into it and see what I can do. 🙂

    • Vicki July 2, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

      I agree, Wanda. I had to spell it out for hubby because he couldn’t figure it out. But he made it and it was delicious! Definitely company worthy! Thank you for the post! BTW, he served it with brown rice.

    • Pauline James September 30, 2015 at 10:24 pm #

      Hi, I sometimes do the print job by page to page, first verify which of the 6 pages actually have the receipe, go to Print, advanced settings and click the ‘range’ so you can choose which pages you want…..or copy only the receipe on to a black Word document, or Message pad (MACs) and then print.

      • Pauline James September 30, 2015 at 10:26 pm #

        “Blank Word document” (not black)

    • Candace February 26, 2017 at 11:44 pm #

      Sccreen shot just the ingredients and directions – or never forget the option of actually writing it down. Screen shotting is the best bet, though.

  7. RJ May 22, 2014 at 11:54 am #

    I saw in your comments that you do not cover the chicken once it has the spinach, mushrooms and cheese added. However, I was wondering about the first time the chicken goes in the oven by itself to bake. Is it covered or uncovered?

    • SOLEfortheSoul May 22, 2014 at 11:55 am #

      I prefer uncovered, but I’m sure as long as you check the temp of the chicken either way would be fine.

  8. Mel August 13, 2014 at 12:28 pm #

    I made this for my dinner last night…….Oh my! Yummmy goodness! Thank you for sharing

  9. audio teleconferencing September 6, 2014 at 5:47 pm #

    I was suggested this website via my cousin. I
    am now not certain whether this submit is written via him as nobody else recognize such specific about my difficulty.
    You are wonderful! Thanks!

  10. Julie January 31, 2015 at 2:47 pm #

    I ran across this today & it sounds delicious. I wish it were outlined more in a receipe, I am not sure how many chicken breast this is for. How many packages of spinach & how many packages of mushrooms? I would think Portebella mushrooms would be the best for this. I find myself reading & re-reading. I am assuming you are cooking the chicken breasts in tin foil? Covered or not covered? Top with spinach mixture for how long? I imagine I could use any kind of cheese to top the spinach?

  11. Lana February 10, 2015 at 1:15 pm #

    This recipe looks amazing! What kinds of seasonings would you typically use/find best for the chicken?

    • SOLEfortheSoul February 12, 2015 at 8:41 am #

      Lana, I’m a big fan of an Italian blend but salt, pepper, & garlic powder would work well too! Thanks for the comment 🙂

  12. NIc April 13, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

    Thanks for recipe. I made it tonight and it was excellent!

    • SOLEfortheSoul April 14, 2015 at 8:03 am #

      That’s great to hear, I’m glad you liked it!!

  13. favor37 June 10, 2015 at 6:14 pm #

    Trying your recipe for the first time tonight. Hope my boyfriend likes it. So far so good. Easy recipe to follow. I did add onions to my meal. Thanks

  14. mary June 12, 2015 at 9:01 am #

    I’m going to try this tonight. Love the format you used as I am a visual learner. I’m excited!

  15. Pamela July 2, 2015 at 8:55 pm #

    Cooked this tonight & it’s amazing!!! I’ll definitely be adding this into my menu every few weeks. Super yummy!!!

  16. Nina August 16, 2015 at 8:46 pm #

    I found it on Pinterest. Cooked it for lunch today it turned out great, even though i overcooked the chicken. Will definitely cook it again my lo refused to eat spinach but devoured the chicken so it is going on my regular menu, next time will skip the onions. Thank you1

  17. Austin Dayacap August 24, 2015 at 8:20 am #

    Hi! I’m planning to cook this for school, but there’s no Alouette in my country, what herbs can you detect in the Alouette? Thanks!

  18. christina August 24, 2015 at 12:44 pm #

    I am a bit confused. How much chicken is in this recipe? Are you cooking the chicken strictly on tin foil on the baking rack, or are you setting it in tin foil on top of a baking sheet?

    I am interested but knowing me, if I do not have each step to follow, I will mess up. Please advise! I’d like to make this for dinner on Wednesday!

    Christina

  19. Pam August 24, 2015 at 7:42 pm #

    My husband said this is his favorite thing I have made !

  20. Kelley August 27, 2015 at 8:47 pm #

    Would love to see this written in “recipe format.” I found myself running from the kitchen to the computer to be certain I was following the basic recipe. I made a few modifications for heart health, so I feel like your version is MUCH better than my saltless version. Love all the ingredients together.

  21. Abby August 31, 2015 at 12:00 am #

    I made this and it is excellent and easy! … Thanx for sharing

    • Karen March 4, 2017 at 2:05 am #

      Then can YOU please type out the recipe so we can all follow it more easily and make it? It does sound good, but it’s SO confusing when there is no recipe to follow.

  22. Dawn August 31, 2015 at 2:50 pm #

    Before you put chicken in the oven, do you brown in pan and what seasoning did you put on chicken?

    • SOLEfortheSoul August 31, 2015 at 3:53 pm #

      I do not brown it in a pan, and you could use an Italian Seasoning blend. You could also just use salt, pepper, garlic powder if you wanted. It’s really up to you. 🙂

  23. christina August 31, 2015 at 3:59 pm #

    I am a bit confused. How much chicken is in this recipe? Are you cooking the chicken strictly on tin foil on the baking rack, or are you setting it in tin foil on top of a baking sheet?

    I am interested but knowing me, if I do not have each step to follow, I will mess up. Please advise! I’d like to make this for dinner on Wednesday!

    Christina

  24. Debbie jett September 3, 2015 at 10:17 am #

    Do you have just the recipe that can be printed. Without the pics. Thanks

  25. Alex September 23, 2015 at 2:50 pm #

    It would be nice if you had the recipe in an easy to print format.

  26. jeannie scott September 30, 2015 at 1:14 pm #

    I tried this dish for dinner the other night and it was a HUGE success with my family (who doesn’t really care for green “stuff”) Thanks for sharing, this will now be in my dinner rotation!!

  27. christina October 12, 2015 at 12:11 pm #

    Hi. I left a comment back in August but never got an answer.

    I am a bit confused. How much chicken is in this recipe? Are you cooking the chicken strictly on tin foil on the baking rack, or are you setting it in tin foil on top of a baking sheet?

    • Laura December 24, 2015 at 7:01 pm #

      I just found this recipe & it looked delish so I think I’ll be making this real soon. I always read the comments on recipes that I want to try cuz there can be some great tips. I was wondering some of the same things as you so I thought I’d check the link that was referenced for Bacon, Butter, Cheese & Garlic since it said that this recipe was adapted from that one. It actually has more detailed measurements for this recipe (like how much chicken, spinach, etc) but it can be tweaked to whatever you’d like. For example, the other recipe has mozzarella cheese while in this one she used provolone. I like this recipe cuz you can make it to suit your own family. Mine, we love swiss. It may have been awhile but I hope you see this.

  28. Shirley November 8, 2015 at 9:27 pm #

    The mushroom and spinach with cream cheese , I need the actual ingredients listed it’s to hard to follow for the grocery store

    • Sandy November 11, 2015 at 6:42 pm #

      I need a list of ingredients

      • Burgundy Olivier January 30, 2016 at 5:28 pm #

        When I wrote a cookbook (“I Love Spinach”), I made triple sure to list the ingredients in the order they were called for in the recipe, along with amounts. I feel your pain. Grab a pen & paper, and write your own recipe using her guidelines. Cooking is all about trial & error! Happy Cooking!

  29. april January 10, 2016 at 10:04 pm #

    Made this tonight and it was a hit!!! Definitely going to make it again!! I added some pepper flakes and used pepper jack cheese… So YUMMY!

  30. Angela May 17, 2016 at 6:59 pm #

    @ christina, it looks like it could be for just 2 chicken breasts, since she isnt getting back to you, she only shows 2 in a picture so im just guessing… hope this helps..

    • christina June 1, 2016 at 1:25 pm #

      @Angela thanks for your response! I still don’t know about how she does the tinfoil…I assume that putting it on a baking sheet wouldn’t be a problem.

      I still never made this dang recipe! lol

  31. Jami August 10, 2016 at 9:53 am #

    Would anyone know weather I cook the chicken some and if so how long, before topping it with the spinage ect.. I would think you would need to or all the other ingredients would be over cooked.

  32. Stephanie September 10, 2016 at 12:43 pm #

    You are so wonderful for posting this! looking forward to doing this recipe yum yum! excited about this! thanks love it! I love the fact that you snag those Alouette herb cream cheeses from Costco my employer 🙂 love Costco! Have a fantastic day! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smothered Chicken - Urban Angels - September 25, 2015

    […] Read More Source: – johnstonecollee […]

  2. Smothered Chicken - Urban Angels - October 25, 2015

    […] Read More Source: – llmsp68 […]

  3. Smothered Chicken - Urban Angels - November 15, 2015

    […] Read More Source: – keriminiun […]

  4. SMOTHERED CHICKEN WITH CREAMED SPINACH AND MUSHROOMS FOR THE CREAMED SPINACH… | - March 29, 2016

    […] (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); Source […]

  5. Smothered Chicken | My Bariatric Lifestyle - December 2, 2016

    […] Source: soleforthesoul.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

