5 Thing Friday

15 Mar

I am making one of my Lenten staples later – salmon patties, so today I will be posting another 5 thing Friday. In no particular order, here are 5 random food facts from my week:

1.

Picture 013

Healthier snacking & eating about five small “meals” during the day (instead of 3 large meals). I’m getting to that point in my training where my metabolism has sped up and I’m physically hungry more than usual. I tend to eat my feelings, so it took me a week or so to figure out if I felt compulsed to eat or if I was actually more hungry. Turns out, I’m physically hungry (stomach aching, rumbling, feeling light headed), so in an effort to fuel myself without binging, I’ve broken my three main meals up into multiple, but substantial snacks. I’ve also been drinking about 3x more water than I normally do.

2.

Picture 014

Yeah,that’s a shamrock ravioli. Another glorious find from my CostCo haul. They are just cheese ravs, but so festive! St. Patrick’s Day is one of my favorite holidays because its the one time of year where the entire Irish community is able to celebrate in the streets. Everyone knows that if you’re truly Irish, then you celebrate your heritage year-round. ūüôā Pittsburgh has the second largest St. Patrick’s Day parade in the country and its happening tomorrow morning. We are very excited!

3.

Picture 015

How have I never bought this before? Of course I want delicious coconut sweetness in my coffee. I’ve been drinking my coffee black because its not something that I like to think of as a “treat.” Its more of a survival mechanism. But, hey! This is a better evening option than ice cream or cake or chocolate or cookies or candy bars.

4.

Picture 016

When I was a kid, I had three favorite sandwiches: PB & Banana, PB & Bologna, and PB & Pickles. If you’re wondering where the root of my chubbiness started…it might have been the PB & Bologna? Who even eats that. Anyway, while I was trying to pack a lunch this morning, I found some bread & butter pickles buried in the back of the fridge. Of course I’m using almond butter these days, but I still love me some nut butter and pickle sandwiches. Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it and trust me when I say: avoid using dill pickles for this.¬† Just trust me, k?¬† Also, make sure your pickles don’t have a sell-by date of April 2012 like mine do.

5.

Picture 017

I’ve also learned to embrace the banana.¬† I’m prone to leg cramps and every few months am woken up in the middle of the night with a wicked charlie horse.¬† Turns out, this is not caused by a potassium deficiency, as many people assume.¬† It can be caused by a lack of sodium and dehydration (researchers don’t have a singular answer for the root of cramping). ¬†¬† You can read more about muscle cramps and how they can be avoided here.¬† Potassium does aid in recovery for runners, though, because it helps your body process sodium and stay hydrated.¬† (source)¬† That being said, I try to eat at least one banana a day, usually after a run or for breakfast.¬† Now if¬† only I could get a fruit to alleviate my restless leg syndrome…

Leave a Reply

