BPA-Free + Balanced Bites

9 Apr

This week, I knew I had to get serious about eating better.  I feel like I’ve been making healthier choices, but I don’t think I’m eating enough.

For example, on Monday I ate a banana after my run along with 2 whole wheat Wasa crackers with almond butter.  I was feeling pretty good and I felt confident about the lunch I packed.

Mira1

How cute are these little containers that MiraBrands sent me to test out?  Keep an eye because next week I’ll be doing a giveaway and one lucky reader will get a set of their own!  The containers are food-grade  stainless steel and the lids are LDPE #4 (non-toxic) plastic.  Both are free of BPA, phthalates, PVC, and lead.  You can read more about why I chose BPA-free containers here.

Lunch was perhaps too simple:

Strawberries

1 cup of strawberries….and 2 cans of drained tuna with just a small dab of light mayo and black pepper

Tuna

Believe it, the larger container held 2 cans of tuna with room to spare.  Not only was I impressed by the capacity, but also the fact that at no point during the morning did I SMELL tuna.  Those lids locked pretty darn tight and passed my tuna test.  🙂

I had packed 3 hard-boiled eggs for added protein, but then I realized that they were getting to be around 2 weeks old.  While I scoff in the face of expiration dates on uncooked eggs, cooked eggs are a little bit more susceptible to salmonella.  I didn’t want to risk it, so no eggs for me.  I believe this oversight was where my self-sabotage began.

When I got home from work, I immediately popped 3 porkchops into a balsamic, agave-maple, and olive oil marinate for an hour.  Then, I roasted some brussells sprouts in garlic and broiled the pork chops.  Everything was just eh.  The porkchops didn’t have enough time to really get much flavor and I just didn’t feel full.

By 8 pm I had a pounding headache and checked my calorie counting app only to discover that I had consumer less than 700 calories for the day.  So, I drank a few beers and fell into a deep sleep.

I think that today went a tad bit better, and I’m hoping that by Saturday I can find some kind of non-coffee-induced energy balance.  I know that clean eating falls in the middle of the spectrum, somewhere between starvation and over-indulgence.  I just have to find a way to avoid the extremes.  AKA the story of my life.

One Response to “BPA-Free + Balanced Bites”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Earth Week Giveaway!! | SOLE for the Soul - April 16, 2013

    […] the opportunity to test out their new line of stainless steel, food-grade, BPA-free containers.  I used them all week long for my lunches and for storing some yummy fruit at home.  Both of these thumbs are pointing to the […]

Leave a Reply

