Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

9 Apr

Everything is in transition right now it seems.  No complaints here, I can’t stand when things are stagnant.

The weather has finally turned towards spring, enough that I can run outside and enjoy being indoors with the windows open.  Man, I swear there is no better sleep than being warm under the blankets with a cool breeze and city sounds coming through my window.  We sat on the porch for hours the other day and it was heavenly!  This is what I felt like after 1-2 beers:

BeerGoggles

I’ve been doing a lot of hanging out at the laundromat lately too:

HangingOut

Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs ain’t gonna watch itself people!

My 5K is this Saturdayyyyyy!!!!!  I felt so prepared the week before Easter and now…not so much.  I missed about 4 days of training due to my own laziness and I sure am kicking myself for that now.  They say that with running, you will only ever get out of it what you put in.  Lesson.  Learned.  I’m going to stay positive and committed to running my own race.  The only failure is not finishing.

I have noticed a lack of energy in myself lately, and I know its my eating habits.  Food is fuel and I’ve been running on empty calories.  When I hit the grocery store, I committed to eating as clean as we possibly can.  She♥ is having a harder time giving up a lot of our carb-loaded staples (chips, crackers, bagels, etc.), but we are getting there!

I’m thinking of certain things as “transition foods.”  You know, better than we were eating, but not quite there yet.  Like this:

Tortillas

What other changes have we been a part of this week, you ask?  Well, one of Liberty & Chief’s first puppies drove by the house and luckily spotted us outside!  It was AWESOME to see how big Luca got.  He is bigger than Chief and definitely takes after his grand-daddy (Chief is 88 lbs., but his dad was closer to 100).

LucaUpdate

The top left photo was a picture of Luca during his last week with us, and the top right is one that his parents sent us a few months later.  Now, he is a man!!!  He’s doing so well and his family adores him.  He’s smart and was easily trained, but still has a lot of energy.  I don’t even think he’s done growing yet and he’s weighing in at a solid 90 lbs.!  Seeing him made my heart very happy!!

4 Responses to “Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes”

  1. Lindsay April 9, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    Luca is ridiculously adorable. I want to steal him.

    Good luck on the 5k this weekend!

  2. Lady Unemployed April 11, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    I love the spring for that reason! I’ve been trying to eat a lot healthier too and cut back on calories. I found I do better with small meals during the day.

    • SOLEfortheSoul April 11, 2013 at 9:25 am #

      Agreed! I think it avoids dips in my metabolism that drain my energy (at least that’s word on the street these days).

Leave a Reply

