Southwest Smothered Sweet Potato Skins

10 Apr

Doesn’t my breakfast look yummy?

Breakfast

We’ve been making a solid attempt at eating healthier, substantial meals instead of skipping meals and resorting to snacking.  My breakfast burrito has 3 scrambled eggs (no milk), chicken sausage, a little bit of low fat cheddar cheese, a dab of salsa, and 1/4 of an avocado on a whole wheat tortilla.  It was basically a breakfast taco because it was too fat to fold like a burrito.

Speaking of mexi-inspired clean eating, we had a seriously scrumptious dinner last night.

Southwest Smothered Sweet Potato Skins (inspired by Half Baked Harvest)

Done2

I saw a variation of this recipe on Pinterest (of course) and knew we had to try it.  The concept is the same as baked potato skins, except the filling is more substantial and its in a sweet potato skin.

I baked three sweet potatoes in the oven, during which time I made the “fixin’s” and let them sit the entire time the potatoes were baking.  I like my favors to really get a chance to combine.

My mixture was:

1/4 c. olive oil
2 diced jalapeno peppers (without seeds)
3 cloves pressed garlic
2 T. lime juice
1 t. cumin
1 t. oregano
2 t. ancho chili powder
salt & pepper
 
PepperMix

I added this mixture to the spinach that we had leftover from strawberry spinach salads (about 3 cups) and 2 shredded chicken breasts:

Chicken

Once the potatoes were cooked and had cooled enough to handle, I scooped out the middle to create a pocket.

Potato Boats

A great idea I got from the recipe was to baste the potatoes in some of the spice mixture and bake for 10 minutes to give them even more crisp.  Then, I topped with my spicy chicken mixture and sprinkled some shredded mozzarella (the only kind I had on hand) on top.  Bake into the oven until the cheese is brown and the potato skins are crisp enough!

FilledBoats2

These were super delicious and really healthy!  I ended up mashing the sweet potato insides and serving them as a side.

Done1

What are some of your favorite Pinterest recipes??

Leave a Reply

