Earth Week Giveaway!!

16 Apr

It’s Earth Week – the week leading up to Earth Day on April 22nd.

Do you have anything fun for planned to help your local community?

Start composting
Commit to recycling
Pick up trash in your neighborhood
Plant a tree
Bike or walk instead of drive
Talk to people about climate change
Conserve energy – use cold water to do your laundry, hang clothing to dry, shut off lights!
Use cloth diapers
Reuse instead of create refuse
Campaign for green initiatives

You don’t have to save the world, you just have to do one or two things. If everyone does one or two things, that DOES add up to change. And when people start seeing change, it makes them want to see MORE change.

One of the biggest changes that I’ve made in the last year is embracing the idea of “reuse.” After starting a cloth diaper service with my family, it helped me put things into perspective. Disposable diapers are the perfect example of planned obsolescence: this describes a product which was produced and manufactured with the intention of it having limited use. It is produced so that you have to throw it away and buy a new one. Disposable diapers are used one time and then dumped into a landfill with BILLIONS of other diapers. The millions and millions of resources and dollars that go into producing disposables each year is literally a waste. Reusable diapers (aka cloth diapers) are produced so that they can be washed and reused over and over again. They use less resources. The contain fewer harmful materials. They lessen a family’s carbon footprint with every reuse.

So that got me thinking about what other stuff I throw away. If you look through your garbage can right now, I can guarantee the majority of what’s in there is packaging. Packaging from stuff you buy, stuff you eat, stuff that comes with your clothes and shoes, just stuff. Just packaging. In 2011, I was buying ziplock baggies almost every time I went to the grocery store. They were the easiest thing to dump snacks and lunches into. I used them to organize things: paperclips, change, nuts and bolts, nails, nail polish, hair ties, etc. In 2012, I really started thinking about how much stuff we throw away, where it comes from, and how we can cut down. It occurred to me that our main issue is packaging.

I started collecting containers of all shapes and sizes. I knew I wanted all of my food to be stored in BPA-free containers. I washed out glass jars from pasta sauces and apple sauces and pickles, boiled them all, and stuck them in my pantry. I invested in some BPA-free glass Snapware containers and I recycled all the Gladware and miscellaneous containers I had collected which weren’t BPA-free. I cringe every time I see someone heat up leftovers in one of those plastic containers that Chinese food comes in. That low grade of plastic is full of chemicals which break down before we even use them. It leaches into our food, ESPECIALLY when its heated in a microwave. Not for me.

So here’s a chance for you to make a positive change in your food storage.

BPA-FREE CONTAINER GIVEAWAY (courtesy of Mira Brands)

Mira2

Mira Brands has given me the opportunity to test out their new line of stainless steel, food-grade, BPA-free containers.  I used them all week long for my lunches and for storing some yummy fruit at home.  Both of these thumbs are pointing to the sky, people.  They kept out the smells, kept my food fresh, were conveniently sized, and durable.  I dropped one which was full of strawberries and cottage cheese, and that lid stayed put!   If you’re looking for something larger, there are also larger ones, which are available through their Amazon store) Just knowing that they are free of toxic materials like BPA, phthalates, PVC, and lead made me feel confident in my container.

Mira is giving one lucky Sole For The Soul (SFTS) reader their own set of stainless steel containers!  The giveaway begins right now and runs until Sunday at 5:00 p.m. EST.  Then, a winner will be chosen by random draw.

Here’s how to enter:

1.  Leave a comment on this post about something awesome you are going to do for Earth Day/Earth Week.

2.  Like SOLE For The Soul on Facebook by clicking here.  If you all ready like SFTS on Facebook, leave a separate comment telling me you are all ready a fan.

The winner will be announced on Monday.  Good luck!!  🙂

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED.

15 Responses to “Earth Week Giveaway!!”

  1. Amanda April 16, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    We’re picking up litter along the Mon River at the SouthSide Riverfront Park with Allegheny CleanWays! Oh, composting and cloth diapering babies, that too;)

  2. Lindsay April 16, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    I’m not doing anything *special* for Earth Day, per se, but I always use reusable containers, “carpool” (AKA bus) to work, and recycle. Also, I’m a cheapskate, so I never waste electricity or water. Does that count? 🙂

  3. Kellie Rose Wilson April 17, 2013 at 1:04 am #

    I am going to plant some flowers and herbs! 🙂

  4. Kellie Rose Wilson April 17, 2013 at 1:05 am #

    I like Sole for the Soul on Fb! 🙂

  5. Jenna Osborne April 17, 2013 at 2:25 am #

    I will be helping my niece’s class plant trees!

  6. Jenna Osborne April 17, 2013 at 2:26 am #

    Liked on facebook

  7. Sara P. (@SensiblySara) April 17, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    I am not doing anything “super special” for Earth Day. But the kids and I might do some crafts. We try to live everyday as if it were Earth Day.

  8. Sara P. (@SensiblySara) April 17, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    I like you on facebook – Sara P.

  9. Dana Rodriguez April 17, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    Every day is Earth Day! I use reusable containers,recycle,upcycle and conserve on electricity,water and fuel!

  10. Dana Rodriguez April 17, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    I like you on FB,Follow @tatzgrrly and tweeted https://twitter.com/tatzgrrly/status/324562496105091073

  11. Maria April 20, 2013 at 1:45 am #

    I’m going to make childrens books out of used materials and notions and give them to the women shelter. I will be plantingt my garden soon and sharering my vegetables later this summer with family and friends.

  12. Marilyn April 21, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    I’m going to plant some succulents!

  13. Marilyn April 21, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    I liked you on FB

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Earthweek Giveaway WINNER!!!!!! | SOLE for the Soul - April 22, 2013

    […] that means its time to announce the winner of  the Earthweek Giveaway.  Who’s going to be the lucky reader to receive the set of 3 stainless steel BPA-free […]

Leave a Reply

