Let’s Regroup.

14 May

Last night, she♥ and I had a very difficult and heated conversation that has led me to reevaluate my summer training and race schedule.

The problem with being addicted to running blogs is that you feel like you have to sign up for a bunch of races.  I feel like I have to sign up for every race.  I have a problem.  I know.  Catching the race bug is a problem.

I’m finding that its distracting me from the bigger picture.

The bigger picture is that my goal is that half marathon, still so far out of my reach.

from familybalancesheet.org

I wasn’t ready this year.  And I won’t be ready by the time 2013 marathon season ends.  That stings.

But what I can make sure I’m ready for is a 10K.  And I mean really ready.  Not rushed and half-ass trained.  So yes, I’ve shelved the Man Up! 10K on June 16th.  It’s not the 10K I dreamed about anyway.  All the 5Ks I want to sign up for are distractions and I know that.  I’m realizing, always the hard way, that distractions lead to self-sabotage.  I want that half marathon too much.  No more distractions.

I’ve decided to spend the rest of my summer focusing on building a damn solid base for the Pittsburgh Great Race in September.  The Great Race has always been #2 on my race bucket list (the Pittsburgh Marathon holds the #1 spot) and I’ll be damned if I walk part of the way.

Completing my first 5K in early summer, my first 10K in early fall, and then focusing on training for my first half marathon (May 2014) is nothing to be ashamed of.  The time will come when I am able to run races on a whim, but I need to do this first.  I need to do it the right way and by that I mean, in a way that’s right for me. 

So that’s it.  Great Race or bust.

 

2 Responses to “Let’s Regroup.”

  1. toeachherownblog May 16, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    The Great Race and Pgh Half are awesome. Good luck on your training!

Leave a Reply

