Be Careful What You Wish For

16 May

Wednesday Morning:

7:30 a.m.

I snooze my alarm, wander downstairs to let the furballs outside, and collapse onto the couch to fall back asleep.

7:45 a.m.

Christina starts calling my name from upstairs.  When I respond, she asks me what I’m doing.  “Sleeping,” I groan and pray for her to be satisfied with a single word.  She tells me my phone is ringing, a colleague whom I work closely with.  I realize that its 4:30 a.m. in her time zone.  I wander upstairs, curious to know what the emergency early morning phone call is about.

8:00 a.m.

I curl up next to Christina in bed and ask if my friend left a voice mail.  “Wellll, she didn’t call.  I just had to get you upstairs to talk to you.”  Gasp.  Trickery.  Betrayal.  “What?!” I say jokingly.  And then, my life coach future wife gave me one hell of a pep talk.

8:15 a.m.

After reluctantly putting on my running clothes, we step out into a light drizzle.  Hmph.  “Great,” I say.  “It’s starting to rain.”  I huff and puff on the sidewalk as she hands me a paper to drop off at the building next door.  I huff and puff some more.  “Just go,” she tells me as she drives off.

8:20 a.m.

I emerge from the building next door and notice our car parked suspiciously across the street.  As I near the sidewalk, she rolls down the windows and I hear it:

I am mortified.  My face turns absolutely crimson, a color usually reserved for after my run.  I demand her to stop.  She rides alongside me as we head for the red light at the end of the street.  By this point, I cannot stop smiling and laughing at how ridiculous we are.  Another pedestrian is amused, and confused, by the spectacle that is us.  When the light turns green, she follows me instead of making the turn she normally does which will take her on her morning deliveries.  Ahhhh!!!  “Okay, okay!!  I’m going,” I half scream, half laugh at her.  As she pulls slowly away from me and drives further out of sight, I can no longer hear the music.  But, I can see her fist pumping out of the car window and into the morning air.

Sometimes, God answers your prayers in ways you never could have expected.

And sometimes, if you are even half as lucky as me, you realize that He wrapped up your Mickey Goldmill and your Adrian into one incredible person.

3 Responses to “Be Careful What You Wish For”

  1. Lindsay May 16, 2013 at 9:44 am #

    This is so awesome. Wish I had someone around to do the same thing for me. 🙂

  2. Pittsburgh Runner May 19, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

    That is hilarious!

Leave a Reply

