Garden Shmarden.

22 May

Around the same time every year, I get the urge to garden.  An all-consuming desire to grow my own food.  There are several problems that seem to arise:

1.  I have three dogs, one of whom loves to urinate on every single thing he can in the yard and sometimes even hoist is back end up to poop ON things.  Like a tree.  Or a bush.  Or the fence.  A few years ago, his favorite yard activity was to sneak behind my compost fence and eat the compost.  The point is that even raised beds aren’t going to cut it. Neither is a screen.

2.  I can’t keep a plant alive to save my life.  I forget to water.  I don’t water at all.  I over water.  I drown.  I bake.  I fry.  I killed aloe.  The only thing plant I’ve kept alive is a cactus for 3 years.  I left it in my closet and never watered it.  Apparently I couldn’t break its spirit.

3.  This is the lazy girl in me talking, but I feel like I don’t have the energy to keep up with it.  With the weeding.  The watering.  The digging.  I don’t even like to get dirty.  Between my business, my rental, my own house, whelping puppies, race training, and my duties with my trade association….really?   Gardening?

Am I just being lazy?  Yes.  Do I need to learn more about keeping plants alive?  Yes. Do I need to plan some dog-proof solutions? Yes.  Am I going to garden this year?  No.  Its the same vicious cycle every year, I swear.  I know that if its something I really want to make happen, I just have to implement some kind of plan for next year.  So, like any Type A personality, I have slowly been crafting a master plan for 2014.

Phase 1:

Get back on the compost wagon.  The sooner we start our compost pile back up, the sooner we will have wonderful organic fertilizer.

Begin the hoarding process of containers.  I think that container gardening might be a partial solution for my dog problems, but right now we don’t have anything to plant in.

Think of awesome project name because….duh.

One day I check my yard every hour to determine when the sun hits at what time of day.  I feel like that will be important at some point.  Also, I need to educate myself on which veggies thrive in what conditions (Certain parts of my yard are in full shade while the other half is full sun.  What is partial shade?).

MeGardening

One Response to “Garden Shmarden.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Impulsive Container Gardening | SOLE for the Soul - June 4, 2013

    […] that time I said I wasn’t going to plant a garden this year?  Because I should do some research?  And how I said I didn’t have any idea what I’m […]

Leave a Reply

