Holla For The Dolla!

28 May

I haven’t don’t any running since the John Thompson 5K due to pain in one of my shins.  Total bummer.  But, it doesn’t feel like the shin splints I’m prone to.  I decided to err on the side of caution because I don’t have health insurance.  I’m praying that rest will help and that it’s not a stress fracture.

What I have been up to, though, is saving money!  I’ve been clipping coupons and scoping out weekly sales.  Have no fear, I am still an advocate for eating as locally as possible.  But, sometimes you just have to restock your pantry.

Today, for example I snagged these awesome savings before the sales end tomorrow.

3 fajita size flour tortillas + 2 soft taco size flour tortillas

Tortillas

Regular Price: $2.19   Sale Price:  2/$5.00 ($2.00/ea.)

Coupon: $0.50 (doubled to $1.00)

My Price: $1.00/ea.   Savings:  $5.95

2 Sargento sliced cheeses  + 2 Helluva Good cheese blocks

Cheeses

Regular Price: Sargento $3.49 + Helluva Good $2.19

  Sale Price:  Sargento 2/$5 + Helluva Good 2/$4.00

Coupons: $1.00 off each purchase of 2 (for each brand)

My Price: Sargento $2/ea. + Helluva Good $1.50/ea.

Savings:  $4.36

2 jars Vlasic pickles

Pickles

Regular Price: $3.79   Sale Price:  2/6 ($3.00/ea.)

2 Coupons: $0.75 (doubled to $1.50/ea.)

My Price: $1.50/ea.   Savings:  $4.28

3 bags of Twizzlers

Twizzlers

Sale Price:  3/$6.00 ($2.00/ea.)

Coupon: $1.00 off of 3

My Price: $1.60/ea.   Savings:  $1.20

On Memorial Day, my mom gave me this jar of hot peppers – FREE & locally grown in a friend’s Italian garden!!

HotPeppers

I spent a total of $19.80 on my items.  If I would’ve walked into the store tomorrow (when the sales are over) with no coupons in hand, I would have spent $35.89!

I froze a few packages of tortillas because I don’t think that we’ll be able to go through them before they go bad.  The rest of the items have an incredibly long shelf life, both before and after they are opened.  Looks like we’re in for some Mexican food over the next weeks!!

3 Responses to “Holla For The Dolla!”

  1. Kristy @PghRunner May 28, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    Happy healing! Rest is good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tricks & Treats | SOLE for the Soul - November 1, 2013

    […] remember when I saved big on tortillas using coupons?   I had used the fajita size wraps long ago, but the taco size tortillas were still lingering in […]

Leave a Reply

