S.O.S.

17 Jun

I am so predictable it’s nauseating.  I’ve been ashamed to even mention this here, but I have to if I want to move forward.

As soon as I get ahead, I completely sabotage myself.  I haven’t run since the John Thompson Memorial 5K.  Not one time.  That was 18 days ago.  I feel like a failure.  I can see my goal of running The Great Race slipping further and further away from me.  I’m worried because each day that passes and I don’t register, I may not get a spot.  Alternately, I’m nervous about registering and not being ready in time.  104 days is a long time.  But, the puppies have proven to be a hindrance to my morning routine.  One of my business partners sprang a trip on us and I had to pull 24+ extra hours at Changin’ Time.  Also, we are going out of town for a week in the beginning of July to a place I’ve never been.  I’m not sure if I will be able to run there – I don’t think there’s a gym and I’m hesitant to run alone in an unknown place.

Are these excuses?  Of course.  Do I feel as though I’m able to overcome them right now?  No.  And that sucks.  I feel so completely unmotivated.  I feel lazy.  I feel like I’ve gained weight.  Me complaining here isn’t going to change anything.  The only thing that will turn my journey back in the right direction is to lace up and get out there.  I’ve been telling myself that for weeks.  But, it obviously hasn’t been enough to do the trick.

What do you do when you get into a rut?  How do you snap out of it?

4 Responses to “S.O.S.”

  1. Lindsay June 17, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    One thing that works for me every. single. time:
    Go. Just go. Tell yourself you’re just going to go walk for 20 minutes and if you don’t feel like doing anything else, that’s fine. But if you’re like me, after 10 minutes of walking you’ll start to run, or do intervals to break it up, or end up doubling the time you’d “contracted” yourself to walk.

    Or: make it a game. Count dogs/fire hydrants/blue cars/whatever. If you reach x number of milestones (10 dogs, for example), reward yourself with something (dessert?) – but don’t give in until you’ve reached that milestone.

    I can’t guarantee these’ll work for you, but they definitely work for me – especially the 1st one.

    Go!

    • SOLEfortheSoul June 17, 2013 at 11:09 pm #

      I know you’re right, as soon as I get out there I will be fine! Just gotta get it done…thanks girl!

  2. Kristy @PghRunner.com June 20, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

    I say register, and use that as your motivation! If I didn’t sign up for race after race, I’m not sure I would run as much as I do, (especially in the winter).

    If you don’t run the Great Race, you’ll be like the only runner in Pittsburgh that didn’t! 😉

    • SOLEfortheSoul June 20, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

      Ok THAT is motivating!!! I will be kicking myself when I’m reading race recaps and I don’t have one!

Leave a Reply

