Sum Up Sun…err…Monday

22 Jul

Sometimes I make things up, maybe just to amuse myself.  Like that time I said I would be “pre-training for my upcoming 10K while on vacation.”  Riiiiiight.  Sure you will, Michelle.

neneEyeRoll

What I did do was drink a lot of beer and think about what was going to happen when I got home.  Turns out, what happened when I got home was:  Lord Baby Jesus tested me.  He said “Bet you wish you got a few miles under your belt in not-so-humid NY state, dummy!”  And then He pointed a chubby little finger at Pittsburgh and there was ’round-the-cloth 100% humidity and 90 degree temps.  Sorry guys, I take full responsibility.

babyjesus

This week I ran.  I got up at 6:00-6:30 AM (AM means morning, remember!?) and I ran.  And even at 6:30 AM there was so much moisture in the air that I honestly felt it bearing down on me.  And I ran anyway.  I ran slooooooooow.  Slower than when I started running the first time.  And I walked.  I walked so much you’d think I was coming off an injury.  But, dammit, I pushed through and I ran because I knew the humidity had to break.  And when it did, running would seem easier.  And then, the humidity broke.  And running seemed easier.

Monday: Woke up at 6:27 am only because my phone started ringing.  Christina, who may or may not have still been asleep said something to the effect of: “Don’t all ready quit, babe.”  I lay there a few more minutes and then begrudgingly rolled my lazy self out of bed and put on my running clothes.  She’s usually right.  Afterwards, my core was sore like I had spent the morning at the batting cages.  And oh boy, did my quads ache.

Tuesday: I took Tuesday as my rest day (I had originally scheduled Tuesdays as rest days because I had to be at work bright and early, but that doesn’t apply anymore).  My muscles were still so sore.  When this happens, you can randomly find me in stretching positions throughout the day.  If my life was a reality show, this is where I would insert a montage of me in random positions in random places.  But, I don’t have cameras following me all day so just imagine me using the world as my barre.

Wednesday: Wednesday was a shorter run than I had wanted to complete, but I chose to listen to my body: the humidity and the aching muscles were telling me to take it easy.  Not being an overly dramatic fat girl here, cooling centers were packed all over the city and there has been a heat advisory all week long.  Knowing that I was going to have to pull a long day in the sweltering hot facility, I made the decision that was best for me.

Thursday: Thursday I had 30 minute cross training on the books, so I did what any chubby girl would do in 100% humidity: walked.  I actually walked for 43 minutes, clocking 2.38 miles.

Friday:  On Friday morning, the humidity unforgivingly down to 65% and I knew I had to try and push myself.  In an attempt to not be thwarted, I decided to switch up my route and drove down to the new portion of the Great Allegheny Passage at the Waterfront.  Best decision I’ve made all week.

GAPTrail.2

The trail is new so it’s in great shape and newly paved.  Best two things:  its much flatter than the uneven city sidewalks I’ve been frequenting AND a tall fence on the one side offered shade the entire way.  Loved it.  I stuck with my training plan and did a solid 2 miles, at my fastest pace of the week.

GAPTrail.1

In this direction, I could run the entire way to The Point, in the heart of Downtown Pittsburgh.  If I turned around and ran the other way I could Forrest Gump it all the way to Washington D.C.  You can read more about the Great Allegheny Passage here.

Saturday: Saturday was supposed to be a cross-training day, but after one very very very long day at Changin’ Time I opted to relax.  Don’t want to burn out!  I also didn’t want to give myself any reason to punk out on my long run scheduled for Sunday.

Sunday:  I had built myself up for Sunday, the anxiety was building for days.  Why am I always a nervous wreck?  No clue.  I wasn’t sure the weather would cooperate, I wasn’t sure my body would cooperate, I wasn’t sure of anything.  It’s not like I’m able to roll of bed, put my shoes on and head out the door either.  I have to get up, let the dogs out, let the dogs back in, give the little one food and water, open Changin’ Time by 8:00 a.m. and by that time I’m just all flustered.  In fact, I forgot to go to the bathroom on Sunday morning, so for the first half of my run I was thinking about how awesome it would be to come across a bathroom.  Or how horrible it would be to poop my pants.  Anyway, I parked down at the Waterfront near Lowe’s theater and picked up the GAP trail behind Mitchell’s Fish Market.  I ran all the way to the Carrie Furnaces, where I knew there would be a bathroom to use, and then turned around and ran back.  I paused my workout and instead of hitting “resume,” I hit “save.”  I was completely irritated at myself.  I like things to be orderly, dammit.  Needless to say, I was not mentally in a good place on Sunday.  I was bored with the trail, which seemed to drag on in a straight line with nothing fun to look at.  I felt like I was walking a lot more than I should’ve been because of the humidity and being a fat mess.  But honestly, when I combined the two legs of my run into one, the numbers were nothing to be ashamed of: 2.71 miles (I had 2.5 on the books) at 13:23 pace with a negative split! I’ve got to learn to not be so hard on myself.  And go to the bathroom before I leave the house.

I like keeping track of my improvement each week.  Seeing these numbers get better is hugely motivating for me, like carrots on a stick.  Except I’m not a donkey.  Although donkeys most definitely run faster than me.

This week’s stats are next week’s carrots:

This week I clocked 8.21 miles.

My fastest pace was 13:20.

My furthest distance was 2.71 miles.

Leave a Reply

