Maple-Lime Chicken Skewers

26 Jul

One of my goals for the week the year my life is to eat better.  Since I started gearing up for this 10K last week, things got more serious.  If my body isn’t fueled properly, I am feeling it in every step.

I’ve been trying some new things and last night’s dinner was a keeper!  (Do you follow me on Instagram (@MichelleSFTS)? Because if you do, you get a sneak preview of things coming up on the blog!

Maple-Lime Chicken Skewers (inspired by Kitchen Meets Girl)

MapleLimeChicken

Ingredients:

  • 3 T. soy sauce
  • 2 T. maple-agave syrup
  • 1 T. canola oil
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 2 garlic cloves, pressed
  • 2 T. Frank’s Red Hot
  • red pepper flakes
  • cilantro to taste
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cubed

Whisk together the soy sauce, syrup, oil, lime juice, garlic, hot sauce, and red pepper flakes.  Add the chicken and make sure the chicken is covered with the marinade.  (I usually mix everything in my Snapware, add the meat, lock on the cover, and then shake it all up.)  Marinate from 1 hr – 6 hrs.

I don’t have a grill, so while I preheated my broiler, I skewered the chicken.  They were in about 8 minutes on each side.  I garnished with a bit of cilantro.

MapleLimeChicken2

 

2 Responses to “Maple-Lime Chicken Skewers”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How To: Store Fresh Herbs | SOLE for the Soul - July 30, 2013

    […] week, I made Maple-Lime Chicken Skewers for dinner.  I bought a bunch of cilantro as a garnish.  There is no substitute for fresh herbs […]

  2. 4th of July Recipe Roundup! | SOLE for the Soul - June 29, 2014

    […] 4.  Maple Lime Chicken Skewers […]

Leave a Reply

