How To: Store Fresh Herbs

30 Jul

Last week, I made Maple-Lime Chicken Skewers for dinner.  I bought a bunch of cilantro as a garnish.  There is no substitute for fresh herbs in cooking as far as I’m concerned.  The problem is that when I buy herbs, they go bad so quickly.  Since I abhor being wasteful, I sometimes just skip buying herbs all together.

While I was cleaning up from dinner I decided to find a better way.  I pulled the cilantro leaves away from the stalks and filled up my ice cube trays and added water:

cilantrocubes1

The next day, I emptied the frozen cilantro cubes into a freezer bag and marked the date:

cilantrocubes3

When I need some fresh cilantro, now I just have to defrost a cube or two at a time and voila!  Fresh herbs that will be available to me for months.

CilantroCubes2

Do you have any tricks to keeping your herbs fresh?

 

Leave a Reply

