A PDR + I Didn’t Even Melt

19 Aug

Every time I log into WordPress, it asks me if I want to become the master of my own domain (buy my domain name).  Today I feel like I am the master of my own domain.  Boooooyahhhhhh.

I’ve been listening to all of the great feedback I’m getting from you guys!

Two of the brightest and best pieces of advice I’ve gotten are:

1.  Keep going & don’t quit!

2. Push through the mental blocks.

I can do this.  I can and will reach my goal of running a 10K.  I keep putting the work in every day, and I will get to the level where I want to be.  Yes, I go through prolonged periods of self-doubt.  Probably more than most people for some reason.  But, coming out on the other side with my motivation still intact is what matters.

On Sunday, I had a 3.5 mile run scheduled, my longest to date.  When I woke up it was sprinkling.  I talked myself out of running in the morning because I would obviously melt if I went outside.  And because 3.5 miles seems like a lot.  Pretty soon, it was Sunday night and we had been working on one of the rentals all day long.  I went to bed feeling guilty because I should’ve run.  It was sprinkling.  Calling it precipitation would have been a joke.  I vowed to myself that nothing short of a tornado would stop me from running on Monday morning.

At 7AM this morning, my alarm went off and I could hear it pouring down rain.  I re-set the alarm for 7:45AM, the absolute latest I can wake up because  Changin’ Time opens at 8:00AM for self-service.  I told myself to mentally prepare for the worst.  At 7:45, it was barely drizzling.  I grabbed a roll of saran wrap and hit the road.  I read that if you wrap your phone in saran wrap, it stays dry and the touch screen still works so I thought I’d give it a try.  As karma often has it, a mist started to shower me steadily about a half mile into my run.

For the first time in my life, I ran in the rain.  And I didn’t melt.  In fact, I liked it.  I can’t say that I would like a torrential downpour, but the misty kind of rain this morning was awesome.  It cooled me down and it motivated me to get done faster.  The rain has always been the one excuse I couldn’t get past:  “I can’t run today because, hello.  It’s raining.”  Lies.  All lies.  And now I have one less excuse to keep me from running when my pillow tries to whisper sweet nothings into my ear.

Another small achievement of the day was my distance.  3.5 miles, just outside of my 5K comfort zone.  And I did it.  In the rain.

puddlerun

I’m also happy to report that the plastic wrap trick worked like a charm!  My phone stayed dry and I was still able to use my Pandora and GPS through the plastic.  I will definitely be using this trick in the future.  Here’s hoping it can stand up to a heavier ran if necessary!  PS – I just realized that “saran wrap” is a proprietary eponym for plastic/cling wrap.  I’ve been calling it that my entire life!!!

SaranWrapPhone

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

8 Responses to “A PDR + I Didn’t Even Melt”

  1. roamintwin August 19, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    This is SO lovely! I have the WORST mental blockage, but this post makes me feel like I can do anything! I just have to quit talking myself out of it 🙂 Have a Happy Monday!

  2. 278toBoston August 19, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    Congrats on the run. I use a snack sized ziplock Baggie. It works well for keeping the phone dry and you can still use the phone. I never thought of “cling wrap”. Good idea.

    • SOLEfortheSoul August 19, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

      Thanks for the comment! I thought about a Baggie, but I only have giant ones. Thought they might be a bit bulky, but snack size would work.

  3. hawkeyeinkc August 19, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    I’m trying to comment on my phone and it totally just disappeared so you may get 2 comments 🙂 Saran Wrap is a fantastic idea! I’m going to try that instead of a Baggie next time. I use the HB handband to hold my iPhone so Saran Wrap would fit much better. Kudos on your distance!

  4. runbuttercup August 20, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    That’s such a good idea on the saran wrap! I probably would’ve ditched out and not run in the rain so good for you!

    • SOLEfortheSoul August 20, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

      Thanks! Like I said, it’s surprisingly refreshing…don’t knock it til you try it!!

Leave a Reply

