Oh, friends.

26 Aug

I have been so busy that I haven’t even had time to log in to SFTS for days! In fact, I’ve been so busy that I barely have enough pictures for a phone dump post.  Last week, Changin’ Time was busier than ever and I’m also gearing up for a big conference in October. (I’m planning the conference, mind you, so it’s a lot more work than I had anticipated!)  We’ve got our final occupancy inspection at the rental tomorrow along with a tenant moving in later that day.  It’s been hectic!  Last week, I did manage to log a little over 11 miles, but not all of them were running miles.

I found absolutely no balance over the weekend, splitting my waking hours between working at the facility, working at the rental, and then filling up my downtime doing awesome things like attempted matchmaking and fantasy football drafts. Let’s just say that a lot of alcohol was imbibed this weekend and I was certainly in no condition to exercise. Fail. But hey, sometimes a girl just has to let her hair down and unwind before she freaks out and quits life.

This morning I got up about an hour earlier than I normally do, determined to start the week off on the right foot. I drove the 3.8 miles from my house to the Schenley Oval and somehow managed to miss a key turn and ended up in Squirrel Hill. Womp womp. Undeterred, I finally made it to the park ready to tear it up!

phoeberunning

It’s amusing to me now that I thought training on a flat, paved trail would prepare me for a 10K road race through the city of Pittsburgh. Insert face palm here.  Needless to say, the hilly trails of Schenley were challenging today and will be nothing compared to the Great Race course.  They were challenging enough that I got lost for the second time in one morning, just past a gaggle of scantily clad, buff female athletes stretching out on a playground.  They then proceeded to run in a pack while managing to look like a live streaming Nike ad.  I, on the other hand, consulted with a very friendly Hungarian man and his dog on my best course of action to get back to my car.  Red face huff & puff, sweat pouring down my face and neck, with a too-tight long sleeve running shirt clinging to me.  I felt like a total shit show.  But, self doubt is something I am working to overcome these days people!  I am just me and this is the healthiest I’ve ever been <– mantra used to avoid having a sobbing breakdown in the middle of a playground.   I decided the best thing to do was to just turn around and run back the way I came.  No big deal.  Crisis averted, pride slightly less intact.

I think I’ve been improving on my form.  The rest of my metrics (speed, distance, fuel) have all gone to hell.  I need to get my ass in gear!  Sunday will be the halfway point of my training program and I am heartily sucking.

I’m going to try and stick to the park this week for my shorter runs.  I think that the hills will be a nice change and will build strength in my legs that I’ll need for The Great Race.  There are enough people around that I’m less likely to half ass anything.  And, to be honest, I feel safer on the trail there.  The GAP trail is starting to feel a little bit rapey since I noticed there was a homeless person camped out along the trail, just past the eagles.  If I was on a bike I would have no hesitation, but I’m just a chick out there running by myself with no ninja skills.  I’ve seen enough Lifetime movies and true crime shows to feel totally heeby-jeebied out by that campsite.

2 Responses to “Oh, friends.”

  1. Cassie September 1, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

    Nothing is worse than when a running spot feels rapey. I had a hard time running that long strip on the North Shore under the 16th street bridge for a while because of the creepy people staring back. Oh, and along 28, too, on the trail there. When it’s dark and you can’t see in, but they can sit there and see you, that’s not right.

    • SOLEfortheSoul September 1, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

      I know! I’m told the tent is gone now, but I still haven’t been back. I’m definitely spooked.

Leave a Reply

