Coming To Terms

26 Sep

I can’t even say that my absence has been well spent.  Well spent on working, yes.  But working isn’t what I write a blog about.  I would even venture to say that I’ve been avoiding you.  And avoiding this:  I will not be running The Great Race on Saturday.

I just can’t.  And not like I just can’t because I don’t believe in myself.  I can’t in that I haven’t put my shiny new running shoes on for over a month.  I can’t in that I’m not one of those people who can unintentionally step away from running and then just pick up right where I left off.  I’m also not the kind of person who can admit defeat.  But, here I am.  Coming to terms with the fact that my 2013 race season has ended and it was the year of the 5K.

The year of the 5K wasn’t a bad year.  It was actually my best year ever.  2013 is the year I started running.  Training for and running two 5Ks is nothing at all to be ashamed of.  In the Ole 5K, I surpassed my estimated pace goals by 2 minutes and shocked myself completely.  I learned that I am capable of so much more than I ever imagined.

Ole5K.Halfway

In the John Thompson 5K, I placed third in my age group (I still can’t believe that), despite the fact that I had no idea how much more difficult a trail race is from a street race.

Medal.JT5K

I really feel like I ruled in 2013.   And oh, yeah:  I also whelped a litter of puppies, flipped a friggin’ house, helped run a professional association, not to mention opened a new facility and picked up a ton more work at Changin’ Time.

2013 has been a year of huge personal and professional accomplishments.  2013 has also been a year of coming to terms with the fact that I can’t do it all.  And I have to be okay with that.  I have to take pride in what I have been able to accomplish and use my experience to develop realistic goals of the future.

3 Responses to “Coming To Terms”

  1. Mom September 26, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    You have accomplished a ton! And there is more to accomplish, the year is not over yet! So proud of you!

  2. Cassie September 26, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    I love all this. Because you know that it isn’t a failure. It’s just ending on a note of 5ks. And that’s OK! I’m proud of you, and most of all I’m proud that you’ve recognized your limits instead of pridefully pushing through something you are unprepared for. Now get out and sell your bib!

    • SOLEfortheSoul September 26, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

      Thanks, Cassie! I needed to hear that. I’m working on the bib as we speak…keep your fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

