Sweet Tea & Citrus Roasted Chicken

13 Oct

Turns out, third time IS a charm.

stc.final

I attempted to roast a chicken for the third time and it was a hit!  I honestly don’t even know where I went wrong the first two mishaps, but it left me nervous about trying again.  Whole roasting chickens were on sale so I made sure to scoop one up last week.  After endlessly researching techniques, I opted to brine that sucker and boy am I glad I did!

I found quite a few sweet tea and citrus brines on Pinterest and I happened to have enough ingredients to throw something together.  Win.

Sweet Tea & Citrus Brine

stcbrine.ingredients

Not shown:

  • 3.5 lb. roasting chicken
  • 8 family size bags of unsweetened tea
  • 1/2 c. sea salt
  • 1 c. brown sugar

First, I made the tea by boiling a gallon of water in my stockpot and adding all 8 tea bags.  I steeped them for 10 minutes while I prepped everything else.  After 10 minutes, I removed the tea bags and added the sugar and salt and stirred until they were fully dissolved.  Then, everything else went into the pot:

stcbrine.steep

This has to cool completely before you add the chicken or it will start to cook it.  Since my bird was less than 4 lbs, I decided that my best bet would be to just put it in a bag with the brine, then put it over ice in the same stockpot I had been using.

stcbrine.brining

I put the ice over it and then put the lid on.  I only meant to brine it overnight, but then all kinds of stuff came up and it ended up brining for a little over 48 hours.  Oopsie.  But no big deal, right?  I flipped it over in the brine every 12 hours.

When it was time to cook it, I took it out of the brine and rinsed it inside and out.  I set it up on a bed of carrots and onions in a casserole dish and then stuffed it with all the stuff that was in the brine (lemon, orange, onions, etc.)  I drizzled it with olive oil and sprinkled it with pepper and then into the oven it went!  The bird was nice and brown before it even went in because of the tea, but HOOOOO BOY did it turn out good.

stc.final

Leave a Reply

