Oh The Yum.

29 Oct

I’m trying as hard as I can to keep the momentum going, despite my monthly friend stopping by for a visit (i.e. I want to sleep for 12 hours a day and eat everything in sight).  I’m actually so tired that I just spelled sugar as “suger.”  On purpose.

Last night, I decided to give another one of Iowa Girl Eats’ recipes a whirl.  I happened upon her blog a few months ago when I realized I was loving her stuff on Pinterest.  Since then, I’ve been hooked!

Thai Steak Lettuce Wraps (from Iowa Girl Eats)

  • 1/4 c. soy sauce
  • 3 T. lime juice
  • 3 T. EVOO
  • 2 T. honey
  • 1 T. + 1 t. sesame oil
  • 1/2 t. crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1-1/2″ knob ginger, peeled and chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1-1/2 T. creamy almond butter
  • 1 lb. thin cut sirloin steak
  • lettuce cups

Quick-Pickled Cucumbers and Onions:

  • 1 small seedless cucumber, sliced thin
  • 1 small red onion, sliced thin
  • 1/4 c. rice vinegar
  • 2 t. sugar

This recipe was kind of perfect for us yesterday because I had basically everything in my fridge/pantry.  I just had to run out and grab the fresh stuff – steak, lettuce, and cucumber.

First, I made the pickled garnish by mixing everything together in a bowl and stirring it up.  I continued to stir it about every 15 minutes until it was time to serve.

TSLW.1

Then, I made the marinade by combining the soy sauce, lime juice, EVOO, sesame oil, honey, red pepper flakes, ginger, and garlic in my food processor.  Once everything was smooth, I took out 1/4 c. of the mixture and poured it over my steak as a marinade.  The rest of the sauce stayed in the food processor and I added the almond butter to it, mixing it again until smooth.  That mixture became the sauce for the wraps.  The steak marinated for about 20 minutes while I pre-heated my broiled, then I cooked it to medium, sliced it up and voila!

TSLW.2

TSLW.3

Sorry about the poor quality of these pictures, it was hard to even snap a few before we devoured them!  So yummy and ridiculously easy to make.  I should also mention that we have leftovers a plenty for today as well.

 

Leave a Reply

