“You have nothing to prove to anybody.”

5 Nov

I write a blog, so obviously I read a lot of blogs.  All kinds – food, fitness, healthy living, green living, even some mommy blogs just because I like them!  While I am hooked on reading and following the lives of these women, there is a lack of realness from bloggers: unachievable goals which are actually attained by unrealistically athletic superwomen who eat in strange, disordered ways.  I suppose if I was in their shoes, I wouldn’t feel that way.  People probably think it’s weird that I dumpster dive for coupons.  From the outside looking in, its frustrating to compare my habits and progress to theirs.  Its like watching a celebrity lose weight after they have a baby.  Two weeks and BAM!  Back to size -3.  That’s just not in the cards for me.

I am a real person, with real problems (like balancing my 2 jobs and my dogs and my family obligations and my home renovations and my laziness and being tired and trying to find healthy things to eat and oh yeah shower while all of this is going on) and I’m doing the best I can.  I have to keep reminding myself of that without the context of superfluous excuses.

So I am here to unapologetically declare that I enjoyed every bite of the pizza I ate at 9:30PM last night – when I finally had a chance to sit down and relax after a string of extremely long days.

GG.JunkFood

We are entering the actual home stretch with the kitchen reno.  Finally.  After like a year.  It’s crazy that we flipped an entire house in a few months, but our own home projects linger on.  Realistically, they are the ones that are always moved to the back burner because they aren’t really effecting anything!  Here is what my kitchen looked like a few days ago:

KitchenRenoNov

You may see this as chaos.  I get that.  But, I see this as PROGRESSSSSS!!!!!!  So yeah.  I literally walked away from what I was doing and took this picture.  Realness. Since this photo was taken, the cabinet doors have dried and rehung (they look awesome!), the dishes have been done (duh), and the island has been cleared of all my on-call paperwork/binders/phone.    Honestly, all we need to do is stain and rehang the pantry doors, throw on some baseboard, caulk, and replace the countertops.  So…..friggin……close.

We obviously didn’t get much cooking done over the weekend in this hullabloo, though.  I did manage to concoct this monstrosity:

StuffedSweetPotato

A buffalo chicken stuffed sweet potato.  It was….not good.  I should’ve gone with BBQ sauce, but changed my mind at the last minute.  So for future reference, not a good combo.

And laundromat breakfasts have been looking like this:

oatmealfail

Half-ass cooked oats with almonds, cinnamon, stevia, and frozen blueberries.  Shockingly not as bad as it looks.

So you see…I could never be a celeb-status healthy living blogger.  Because I am real person who hasn’t been to the gym since Friday, takes my time getting projects done, struggles to find clean eats and vegs out with delicious white pizza and MNF.  I am also a fucking rockstar who rolled out of bed this morning, got coffee, hurried to the rental to bundle about 50 lbs. of landscaping mess to beat the garbage truck,  washed the car, VOTED, made it home in time to put our own garbage out, did the dishes, made myself some egg whites and turkey bacon, did 2 loads of laundry, AND managed to catch half an episode of Teen Mom 3 on DVR before work.  I think I would prefer my real life to a contextualized pedestal that I have to create and never fall from.  🙂

MayaAngelouQuote

2 Responses to ““You have nothing to prove to anybody.””

  1. Mary Kay November 5, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    Nice Article! And the kitchen looks like huge progress to me. You have an island!!! Very cool!

  2. Mom November 6, 2013 at 6:35 am #

    I think the kitchen looks great! I love the color. That’s the color I originally wanted for my living room! You do what ever you have to to get your shit done!

Leave a Reply

