Goodbye, Sweet Hallie

15 Nov

I don’t want to be writing this.

I would much prefer staying in this little cocoon I’ve been living in for 5 days now.  But, isolating behavior like this is making it worse.

Last Monday night into Tuesday morning, the snow fell silently outside the windows while we slept. I was up on and off throughout the night with my beloved poodle, who was having gastro issues associated with tortion (which she is predisposed to).  I got up every 30 minutes to make sure she was hydrated and comfortable until we could get her to the vet for scope in the morning. (We thought she might have an intestinal blockage, although the x-ray done earlier in the day had turned up nothing).  When I woke up at 7:45 to check on her, she was gone.  Just laying there at the foot of my bed, as she always did, her dainty little back legs criss-crossed.  She could’ve been sleeping peacefully for all we knew, except Christina noticed the unnatural stillness.  I felt my heart explode into 1000 pieces.

Hallie2

Oh, darlin’ will I miss you.

I will miss your incredible almost human-like personality, your sweetness, your sweet soft hair, your rambunctious energy, the way you loved to play with Liberty, the way you loved to cuddle with just about anybody, your soulful eyes, and your constant presence.

Hallie1

I will miss my running buddy, my little shadow, my most loyal companion.  I have never met a dog like Hallie and I probably never will again.  She was just so incredibly sweet and smart.  Dogs and humans that came into contact with her fell instantly in love, captured by her gentle spirit and her contagious energy.

Hallie4

I don’t even know why I’m attempting to write this all out here because my emotions still feel indescribable.  I wake up in the morning and my heart can tell something is missing.  When I stand up from the couch, there is a vacancy where there is usually a furball. When I see Chief and Liberty playing in the yard, my heart swells up and searches for her.  There is just a hole where there used to be a lot of love.  I can’t say this enough:  I have NEVER had a bond with an animal like the bond I had with Hallie.  She will forever be missed by our family and I will think about her every single day.

Goodbye Hallie, we love you so very much.

Hallie3

4 Responses to “Goodbye, Sweet Hallie”

  1. Cassie November 16, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    Oh. My heart just broke reading this. I am so. SO. sorry for your loss. So very sorry.

    I wish there was more I could say.

    • SOLEfortheSoul November 18, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

      Thanks Cassie, its part of life I suppose. :o/

  2. Lindsay November 20, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    Aww, I’m so sorry for your loss. Losing a pet is so terrible – they become such a part of our lives. 😦

    • SOLEfortheSoul November 20, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      Thanks hun…it was just so unexpected. I’m still kind of in shock.

Leave a Reply

