5 Thing Friday

22 Nov

1.  Ace Hotel Coming To Pittsburgh

Ace Hotel, New York

Ace Hotel, New York

So I read this article in Pittsburgh Magazine about “America’s Coolest Hotel” coming to the ‘burgh.  Well of course I wanted to read more because I’m a geek and turns out this hotel chain is super hip(ster) and there are just a few locations around the world – in swag cities like London, Portland, Paris, and now a revitalized  YMCA in Bakery SquareAce Hotel is known for contextualizing the hotel to the city, so we are all on the edge of our seats wondering how AH will showcase Pittsburgh’s complex industrial history.  Or at least me and other design junkies are.  I also might stay there just for fun because hello – micro-brew and small batch coffee on site?  Chyeah.

2.  Serial Killer Christmas Cards

lizzyborden1lizzyborden2

I recently discovered another Pittsburgh blogger – OhHonestlyErin – who seems to have a dry, off-beat sense of humor like myself.  She posted a link to her Etsy shop the other day, where she features her serial killer greeting cards.  I think these are surprisingly fun and hysterical!  I will definitely be buying some of her Valentine’s.

3.  Our house is done!

photo 2(1)

More on this over the next few days as well, but yay!!!  Everything is perfect and we haven’t even put on the finishing touches…or decorations.  haha I promise my walls aren’t normally so cold.

4.  Jace & Si’s Turkey Safety Video

You’re welcome.

5.  Dinner Partayyyyyyyy

Thursday was completely consumed with fretting over and prepping for our very first dinner party.  I am working on a full recap for over the weekend, but just know that I was totally in my element.  I feel like I did my Bubba proud!  Yes, this is my actual grandmother in a photo taken (obviously) on her wedding day.  She was a master entertainer and I remember growing up attending lavish parties.  In fact, one time my cousins and I served hors d’oeuvres on roller skates to guests!  The thing that makes me smile the most about the picture is that when she got married, she couldn’t even boil an egg!

Bubs

One Response to “5 Thing Friday”

  1. Mom November 22, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    The kitchen looks FAB!!!!!

Leave a Reply

