Declaration

27 Dec

Well I was about to write a really boring 2013 recap for you, but…

mackenzieGIF

So.

In that spirit, I think it’s resolution time!

2011:  I resolved to leave corporate sales world and go back to school for my master’s degree in sustainable systems.  Yikes!  What a scary, exciting time for us.  This is also the first time in my life that I consistently worked out (& to be honest, it was pretty inconsistent).

2012:  I resolved to focus more on sustainability, eat out less, and run a half marathon (specifically a few 5Ks, a 10K, and then lead up to a half).  At this point in my life, I truly had no understanding of what that meant.  I just knew I needed a change.  Looking back on my posts from this time period, things seem very stagnant, with much of my time being focused on opening our business and graduating.

2013: From my postings, I seemed to feel unresolved regarding 2012.  I was disappointed with my running progress and my lack of commitment to healthy living.  While I can say with 100% certainty that I achieved my goal of living more sustainably, I re-committed to my fitness goal of running a half marathon.  I ran 2 5Ks, graduated from school, and we unexpectedly purchased 2 additional rental properties:  certainly nothing to scoff at.

2014:  I’m feeling like I had at least some forward momentum in 2013.  I’ve had the same goal for 3 years and I’ve barely made any headway in attaining it. That’s not a very good feeling.  I’m also staring down 30.  My one and only goal for 2014 is to finally get it right.  I’m not making any specific promises to myself (trust me, I still think about that half every day), but I am going to get it done in no uncertain terms.

2013 was bittersweet.  There’s a humbling balance to that, though.  With all of its highs and lows, I am thankful for every moment of 2013.  I am looking forward to a new year and a fresh start!

change

Leave a Reply

