Cold Streak: Day 3

30 Dec

The cool thing about my job is that I have some flexibility.  In my day-to-day life, I’m ashamed to admit that I complain A LOT about how I don’t have time to do anything.  The reality is that I have time for anything I want to have time for.  It’s really just a matter of my own mindset.

Weather.123013

Example:  My alarm went off at 7 AM this morning, at which time I assessed the weather and determined that I would like to try another cold weather run.  Somehow the above temperature reading didn’t seem so bad (am I losing my mind?)!  I volunteered to open Changin’ Time and then make our single delivery, which was in Oakland, so that on my way home I could get in a quick mile at Schenley Park.  See…flexibility.

I’ve found that in order for flexibility to be a thing, I have to make the most out of the hours in my day.  Coffee also helps.  Sure, I would love to (and sometimes do) sleep in until just before Changin’ Time opens at 10AM.  Those unproductive mornings usually turn into unproductive afternoons and days.  For the last few weeks, I’ve been setting my alarm early and it works.

I present to you:  The Butt Crack of Dawn

BeechwoodatBrownsHill

The quality of the pic isn’t the point so pretend you don’t notice it, k?

Every single time I am near the Schenley Oval, I feel compelled to see the view of downtown from the top. I love Pittsburgh!

PittsburghFromOval

It’s prettier in person, I promise.  You have to go there and see it for yourself.

Anyway, I ran down the Bridle Trail and was feeling pretty good.  When I took my first walking break, I stopped to check out my GPS and I had all ready run a little over half a mile!!  I was shocked!

Schenley.BridalTrail

It certainly hadn’t felt like that long and honestly based on the last 2 days, I didn’t think I had it in me.  I told myself that I would run at least 1 mile every day this week, very low pressure and a fun way to ease myself into cold weather running!  I knew I could keep going, but decided to stick to my original plan which was 1 mile.

I headed home feeling very accomplished!  The cold weather makes every little feat feel like the biggest victory and I am really happy with what I’ve done the last 3 days.  Breakfast was  scrambled eggs mixed with some leftover black beans and rice.  My fingers are crossed that I can avoid giving into temptation today (in the form of junk food, Christmas cookies, or soda) and keep my eyes on the prize!

4 Responses to “Cold Streak: Day 3”

  1. Cassie December 30, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    I love that trail! Oh I miss living in Oakland.

    Not really, but sometimes I do. Mostly because I was 18 then. And really fit. And less stressed.

  2. hawkeyeinkc December 31, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    Good for you! The view overlooking the city is amazing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. That Time Old Ladies Did More Crunches Than Me… | SOLE for the Soul - December 31, 2013

    […] I’m all about flexibility as a means to success lately, I went to my first ever fitness class last night! That’s right, kids. I got in a run […]

  2. The Biggest Announcement Yet! | SOLE for the Soul - May 9, 2014

    […] So, I changed.  I stopped putting so much pressure on myself, I started using running mantras, I embraced flexibility as a means to success, I stopped comparing my progress and performance to the progress and […]

Leave a Reply

